08.02.2014 Goldmine Brook Cascade

In catching up on my cataloging, I came across this image from June 12 at Goldmine Brook Falls.  When wandering in these places, there are a lot of smaller features that catch one’s eye.  Sometimes in review they are not very remarkable, but I think this one has some appeal and the implied movement through the frame carries the image.Goldmine-Brook-Cascade-2-061214-600Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 08.02.2014 Goldmine Brook Cascade

  1. The mosses certainly do train one’s eye to leap from rock-to-rock-to-rock-to-rock (my eye did actually take four steps before coming up against the limits of the frame). I too often overlook nice images in my haste to process and post those which I initially judge to be best in a particular series. I have wondered how many photos, which would have had appeal for fellow bloggers, have been lost to my not having gone back as you have today? Nice shot. D

    Like

    • I usually save at least one of every image, sometimes more if appropriate, just in case my eye changes with time or my processing skills grow better along with improved tools.
      I may also convert this one as a quick look showed that it works well in monochrome too.
      Thanks, D.

      Like

  2. Just Rod says:

    I like the shape of the dark areas – negative space has always attracted me. I can see that would be enhanced in a monochrome version.

    Like

  3. Jim in IA says:

    What are the dimensions of the scene? It appears about 5×10 feet. I like the greens attached to the rocks.

    Like

  4. Andrew says:

    Definitely worth showing Steve. Difficult to tell scale but it ‘moves’ well.

    Like

  5. Gee you do have lots of falls, brooks, and, water photos. I like all of them and I can’t add to anything that has already been written. Lovely just lovely..

    Like

  6. The zigzag path of the river adds a unique element to the picture.

    Like

Leave a Reply

