07.31.2014 Screw Auger Falls

There are two falls in Maine known as Screw Auger.  One is easy to visit, so I hear as I have not visited that one yet, and the other is about a one mile hike which includes fording a river that ordinarily is about knee-deep with a rocky bed.  The trail meets up with a section of the Appalachian Trail so is well-traveled and is part of Gulf Hagas which holds several waterfalls.  I only visited Screw Auger.

This is an older image from a few years back, but I just thought to convert it to black and white.  The conversion brings a different dynamic to the image which may or may not appeal to everyone….most likely not my Austin correspondent. 🙂Screw-Auger-Falls-vertical-B-W-600WebIf you want to compare, here is a link to the color version from way back when.

07.08.10 Screw Auger Falls, Gulf Hagas

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Landscape, Nature Photography, Waterfalls and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 07.31.2014 Screw Auger Falls

  1. Andrew says:

    It has a strong luminosity to it Steve. It would be interesting to print and see if it can be retained. Looks like a place best visited in calm weather if the current can run fast.

    Like

  2. Just Rod says:

    The B and W version has a lot of drama. I almost prefer it to the colour version. When will you try visiting the easy falls?

    Like

    • Oh, I don’t know, Rod. I did not go to Maine this year, but hope to next. When I go I divide the trip between visiting my friends in Northern Maine and going to Acadia on the coast. The other Screw Auger is more to the western part of the state so it would require some driving but I do want to visit it.

      Like

  3. Jim in IA says:

    The thing I like in both versions is the splash pattern when the water hits the pool. Very dynamic visually.

    Like

  4. Very nice indeed. Forgive me if I reply twice Steve … I’m having difficulty with comments and experimenting a bit. Also, I compared this to the color version … and B+W gets my vote. D

    Like

  5. I’ve copied and pasted what IU wrote on the color version. Hope you don’t mind

    Difficult to say which I prefer but again this photo takes on a different perspective. I think I like the last photo here because I can see more of the rocks where the water is falling. This one to to me is the best one. But I did like the monochrome- there just not enough content in the pic.

    Reply

    Leave a Reply

    Enter your comment here…

    Like

    • I’m following your example, Yvonne. 🙂

      As I mentioned above, I often roam around looking for several angles and, in this case, a return trip was not going to be very soon, so I tried a few and shard them here. I agree that the third has more to offer, but the second is more a portrait and what most people go for.
      Thanks, Yvonne.

      I’ll add that in this rendering I was going for the luminosity Andrew mentions above and wanted the falling water and it’s spread below to be what really stands out as opposed to the color images where the entirety of the scene dominates.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This time your Austin correspondent has no problem with the black and white version, which is excellent and eye-catching.

    Like

  7. Lottie Nevin says:

    That’s what I call, making a splash! When I read the title of this post – Screw Auger Falls, I thought it was because you’d had a bad time there and were going to be letting off a bit of steam about what happened – clearly this is not the case!! Judging from your photograph, it was a successful visit 😀

    Like

Leave a comment