07.29.2014 Harvard Pond Sunrise

It’s a quiet start to my day and workweek.  It’s going to be a lovely day here in the neighborhood.  I hope the same is true for you.

Harvard-Pond-Sunrise-051814-600WebThat’s it for me.  Quiet.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to 07.29.2014 Harvard Pond Sunrise

  1. DAS says:

    Nice … very nice. We’re still having a tough time with the weather here in central PA. Too much rain and not enough clear, warm, dry days to make hay – such a frustration. Thought we might get it done this week but the forecasters are now calling for the possibility of late afternoon thundershowers for the next several days. I envy you your clear skies – enjoy them. D

    Like

    • Thanks, D.

      Sorry to hear about your haying being thwarted. Sometimes you farmers are getting hammered by drought and other times by too much rain. It’s a tough business and one I am very respectful of.

      So, I am wondering….does the Pairadox hint at two doctors?

      Like

      • DAS says:

        Ha! There is is! I wonder how I could have overlooked this! So, sorry, I slipped up … stay tuned, I’m working on a post which will describe why my attentions may have been somewhat preoccupied today! You were absolutely correct about the Pair-o-dox (even before reading our statement of philosophy). We are a pair of PhDs (botany and zoology) and the dox isn’t docs to make the name a true paradox! How’s that for confusing? Regarding farming … there’s a saying which goes … A dry year will hurt a farmer, while a wet one will kill him (or her). We’ve experienced both here in central PA … it’s been a long haul and, actually, we’re thinking of switching gears sometime in the (hopefully) near future. D

        Like

      • Yes, I remember you mentioning moving back to Massachusetts when you first dropped by here.

        Like

  2. AnitaMueller says:

    Still enjoying my daytime shot but, this is pretty too!

    Like

  3. Bob says:

    Stephen, this is a gorgeous landscape. I’m curious as to your camera/lens/setting etc. You strip out the meta data before posting…bob

    Like

    • Thanks, Bob.
      I don’t purposely remove it….but I do use “Save for Web” and that does remove all but the copyright info, I think.
      5DII, 24-70@24 + CP, f/16@1/25sec, ISO 100 on a tripod.

      Like

      • Bob says:

        Steve, I really appreciate the shot info. I don’t know the version of PS you use but in my CS5 there is a pull down in ‘save for web’ to select a few different metadata save conditions. The 5DII and this lens are pro quality, and your shot conditions are what I’d expect of an experienced photographer and all this shines through to my eye even in this web jpeg. Of course, I know that your talent and experience is really what makes the shot. Thanks again…bob

        Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    It’s taken me until now to realize the only people I know in Massachusetts are on the Cape, and consequently ocean-oriented. Your photos of its landscapes in a different part of the state are real delights. This one’s a beauty.

    Is this a kettle pond, too? I was pondering what might have happened if Thoreau’d had a camera, and I started looking for Walden’s location, and discovered you not only have bogs, you have kettle ponds. The only time I hear “pond” around here is when someone’s talking about their stock pond, or it’s really rained and water’s ponding on the freeways. Neither are as attractive as this.

    Like

    • Thanks, Linda. No, I don’t believe this pond is a kettle although it probably is the result of the glacier doing a scraping, but I don’t think it is the result of an ice melt collapsing occurrence.

      I’ve never been to Walden Pond. I’ve never been very good at visiting famous spots. I live in Amherst, MA….home of Emily Dickinson but have visited neither her home nor her grave. Actually I have only read two of her poems and only remember…mmmmm, none. But that isn’t surprising since I don’t remember much of what I read. Too much merry pranking, I am afraid, has come home to roost, so to speak.

      Like

      • shoreacres says:

        It’s a common phenomenon. I live across Clear Lake from NASA – the Johnson Space Center. I can see the tops of the buildings. I drive past it on a regular basis. I admire the Shuttle replica in its front yard. Have I taken the tour? Nope. I keep telling myself I’ll run over on a rainy afternoon, but there’s always something to do that seems more pressing or more interesting.

        Like

      • Same case here, Linda. Saving for a rainy day has a few meanings, no? 🙂

        Like

  5. quabbinite says:

    Harvard is one of my favorite sunrise venues in the Quabbin.

    Like

  6. Andrew says:

    Hmmm. There are clearly better things than a business school at Harvard. Beautifully composed and created Steve.

    Like

    • This is about 70 miles west of the school, Andrew. But for my money it is the best thing about Harvard. It is also the site of the banner atop this blog, as you may have read mentioned earlier in Anita’s and my comments.
      Thanks!

      Like

    • You are a man of few word, Rod. Of course, we know that is not the case, but I like the succintity of your comment. Yep, I just made up that word on the fly. Spellcheck is not pleased.

      Like

  7. Lottie Nevin says:

    I think Just Rod took the words right out of my mouth – Serene sums it up perfectly.

    Like

  8. Now you can put on your résumé that you’ve gone to Harvard and come away with quite a degree of success.

    Like

  9. Can we replace “to master that success more often” with “to a greater degree”? In particular, I’m thinking the greater degree would have to be more than a Master’s, namely a Ph.D., or Doctor of Photography.

    Like

  10. An excellent photo here, Steve. I really like how you framed the pic with the tree brances on the right and the grouping of trees to the left. Fog rising adds lots of flavor but all in all this one is so nice it needs to be framed and sold or hung someplace.

    Like

  11. That is really stunning, it must be a favorite.

    Like

Leave a Reply

