07.27.2014 Rainy Day Dream Away

It’s just a title in my head…and a song.

However, it has been a rainy day for the most part and I got out for a few hours this morning before the downpour.  I didn’t want to be a mile in the woods when the sky opened, so I stopped at the roadside lotus pond to see if there were dogbane beetles or frogs.  I didn’t see any beetles, but there was Fergus giving a really nice profile pose on a rock.Bullfrog-Full-Profile-072714-600WebI knew it was risky, but I wanted to see if I could get a shot from above.  No go.  I must have looked a bit like a predator and off he hopped.

It was a bit breezy and I looked at a flower spot, but they were swaying too much.  The next option was Poor Farm Swamp and this dead tree has always interested me.  But color Poor-Farm-Swamp-Tree-1-072714-600Webor monochrome?Poor-Farm-Swamp-Tree-072714-600WebThe weather guess is more rain tomorrow.  I hope later in the day.

Oh yeah…about the title:

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Closeup Photography, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to 07.27.2014 Rainy Day Dream Away

  1. Just Rod says:

    Ferguson looks like a friendly chap. I like the contrast between the rich red-browns of the tree and deep greens of the grasses. So I have a slight preference for the colour version.

    Like

    • One of the advantages to shooting either in or around the rain is the depth it lends naturally to colors. I was going to say “saturation” but I guess that actually goes without saying.
      I’m not too sure about Ferguson’s friendliness so much as his tolerance, Rod. But he did stick around much longer than the rest who left if I just looked their way. Guess Sunday was jump day.

      Like

  2. You like him too, the frog, and Jimi!

    Like

  3. Lyle Krahn says:

    I must say you made Fergus look exceptionally good. Those colours really work well together – all so natural looking.

    Like

  4. Phil Lanoue says:

    That Fergus is some handsome fellow!
    I’m going with color on the tree.

    Like

  5. DAS says:

    I can so relate to wanting to get out with the camera BEFORE the heavens open. I was doing exactly the same thing this very morning. I had returned home after my ritualistic visit to town for coffee and looked at the forecast for the day. I grabbed the camera and was back in the truck in a flash to get myself down to the banks of the Susquehanna to grab some images of a corn field that I needed to complete a post I’ve been working on. As it turns out, the bad weather is arriving just about NOW … only 8 or so hours after those who are supposed to know better were predicting! Go figure. D

    Like

    • The weather here is never, or rarely, on time. Most often earlier than expected but occasionally later. For a change, though, it was accurate this AM and the thunder storm and showers arrived right about “sunrise”. Dark gloomy light and sporadic showers and lightning kept me off the bog today…..Momma didn’t raise no fools…..at least where bad weather is concerned. The other stuff, well the jury is still out.

      Like

  6. Andrew says:

    The frog is a splendid fellow – such a shame he didn’t hang around. The tree gets rare vote for colour from the HK judge.

    Like

  7. Jim in IA says:

    Good looking fellow, Fergus. Did you see the Nature episode this past month on frogs? It was quite interesting.

    I am a little partial to the color version. But, the monochrome has appeal. I almost never shoot that way. Maybe I should try it more.

    Like

    • No, I missed it, Jim. I went to the PBS site this AM and it is no longer available for streaming. Maybe I’ll get it for the Kindle. Thanks for mentioning it.

      Do you mean that you never shoot in B&W? I always shoot in color and then convert. My camera does have a monochrome setting, but I prefer to have the option of both and also think SilverEfex Pro does a better job and allows more control.

      Like

  8. I hope memories of Jimi Hendrix didn’t inspire you to smash your camera the way he did his guitar.

    In addition to regular frogs, Austin has miniature ones less than an inch long. For your sake, I’m glad you had an easier-to-photograph subject.

    Like

    • I liked Jimi, but never emulated his behaviors. Did he smash guitars? I know he set them on fire, I guess so he could stand next to it. Pete Townshend smashed ’em up pretty good, which didn’t score him any points with John Hiatt.
      I am more than willing to drag myself through the mud for a 1 inch frog…or toad…or bug. It wasn’t all that easy. Fergus was on that rock which was extended out into the pond, so to get a good angle I was half in the pond with my boot and the tripod legs sunk into who knows how many inches and years of lotus pad/frog detritus.

      Like

      • It seems Hendrix was doubly detrimental and smashed his guitar after he set it on fire.

        More credit to you for your picture of Fergus now that we know the circumstances weren’t as easy as you made them look.

        Like

      • I don’t usually say what the circumstances are because, when it comes down to it, the image stands alone.
        I knew someone once who tried to charge more for images that were difficult to accomplish. It doesn’t work that way. .

        Like

      • Now there’s an idea: I could charge twice as much for a ten-chigger-bites photograph as for a five-chigger-bites picture. In that system, the price of the photograph of the horsemint flowers I recently showed would be off the charts.

        Like

      • Yeah, just imagine what I could charge for a flower or bug image after having contracted Lyme Disease while acquiring it. If I survived I could retire.

        Like

  9. A handsome frog you captured here with your camera. Generally, I like the monochrome but here the saturation is better in the color pic. I suppose the monochroime does not have enough contrast but then I’m far from being an expert. The color pic is excellent. i like that one a lot.

    Like

    • I am surprised with you and Andrew, Yvonne. I did not want too much brightness in the photograph, just enough so the tree was the most prominent part of the image surrounded by lightness. But there is a white point in several places so a fairly wide range of zones are there from 3 to 8.
      It was a tough choice for me between the two so having the color version be more popular sits just as well. Thanks! 🙂

      Like

      • My only explanation for choosing the color pic is that I see more detail such as the cattails and the smaller bushes or saplings that are growing around the deceased tree. All in all the color pic is easier on the eye for some strange reason. I really am fond of monochrome as you know so this is a rare instance, I suppose. 🙂

        Like

      • Both you and Linda have explained the color’s appeal well, Yvonne. Thanks. 🙂

        Like

  10. shoreacres says:

    I much prefer the color. Not only does the primary tree stand out more clearly, the color allows the various layers of growth to contrast with one another. The eye catches the cattails first, then the young growth, then the “whatever”, and finally the old trees. So many greens really makes it work.

    Love the frog!

    Like

  11. Lottie Nevin says:

    Defo the colour and as for Mr Frogington, what a handsome fella. I’d definitely give him a kiss 😉

    Like

    • Ach! My poor monochromey is getting taken to the cleaners. :-O

      Fergus F. Froggington is definitely a popular froggy. I wish I could have got a nice full frontal image of his grin, stoic though it was, but that was not possible. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

