07.15.2014 Shooting the full moon with The Photographer’s Ephemeris

Sounds like I am going to give a tutorial, doesn’t it?  Well, I know better than trying to ‘splain myself.  I always get it wrong somehow, which is why this post is necessary.

In my previous post, Goodbye Moon, I complained about an inaccuracy with TPE.   The software’s developer, Stephen Trainor, popped in and shared some information, which I should have known, about the use of the program that would have saved me the disappointment.  So I am sharing a link to the video that will help you, and me, get there on time and in the right place.

About 5 minutes in is the information about elevations and how to plan for them.  I did watch this a long time ago and that part of the program disappeared from my consciousness.  My bad, as some say.  RTFM, as some say.  This post is to straighten out my undeserved complaint as a way of a) being up front about things…even when they embarrass me…and b) thanking Stephen for creating this fine software and sharing it with us.  And I do mean share….it is free for your desk or laptop and just a small amount for your pad or phone.

And, as an example of how it did get me to the right place at the right time, here is one more full moon image from the morning of Saturday the 12th looking at the Holyoke Range from Mount Pollux.Full-Buck-Moon-over-the-Holyoke-Range-2-071214-600WebThanks, Stephen.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Mountains, Nature Photography, Photographer's Websites and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 07.15.2014 Shooting the full moon with The Photographer’s Ephemeris

  1. bythebriny says:

    Thanks so much for posting this video. It will come in very handy for the next full moon!

    Like

  2. Jim in IA says:

    That’s a terrific app. It will soon be on my devices. I see now why you had that alignment issue the other day. Here in IA, we don’t have much elevation change to cause trouble like that.

    Thank you for clearing things up.

    Like

  3. Steve – many thanks for the follow-up post! Looking forward to seeing your August full moon shots.

    Like

  4. This ohe is excellent. i like the emphasis on the tree.

    Like

  5. Sandra says:

    I have tried again and again but never managed to get used to TPE and how to use it properly. Sometimes this just happens; the programme is not really intuitive to use and I tend to click out once I have to spend hours on how-to tutorials and even worse on video tutorials.
    Anyway – I really like the photos you took during full moon that you posted in your recent posts. Especially the ones with the lake are excellent!! I could live without the large photo of the tower which lacks a bit of charm 😛

    Like

    • I am surprised to hear that, Sandra. I never found it that way at all. But there are plenty of things you find easy that I cannot get straight in my head, so it is just certain things that give us fits some times. 🙂
      Yeah, the one with the lack of charm, or as I was looking for…drama…was the result of all this misunderstanding. The original idea was not at all like the final product…which is often a good thing, but not in this case. I am hoping things line up next month.

      Like

  6. Looks like you’ve gotten high over the moon, and this time you’ve gotten the moon higher, too. Keep it up and you might have to move to Colorado or Washington.

    Like

    • Those places do offer many more opportunities for sure, Steve. You appear to be trying to get me out of New England with suggestions for visiting and moving. I admit it would be nice to expand my horizons, so to speak, but I am betting on staying right here for the rest of my days. But you never know.

      Like

  7. There is definitely something to be said for digging in to your home ground, isn’t there? (I just haven’t found mine yet! 😦 )
    This is a wonderful post~ sorry I’m behind in my reading. You really nailed it with this photo!

    Like

    • Not only is it cool to explore and show off your own community, but it saves a lot on gas and lodging too, Melissa. 🙂
      So are you saying that you have moved around a lot? Until we bought our house, I spent my entire life moving. As a child my folks were constantly moving from town to town and house to house. Then as an adult I did the same. Now I’ve been rooted here for 29.5 years. That sounds like a long time….it all went by like a finger snap. I hope you get anchored somewhere too…..if that’s what you want.

      Like

  8. Pingback: 08.26.2014 A foggy day in Amherst town. | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

