07.04.2014 Swamp Rose

Here’s another flower from yesterday’s walk through the Brickyard Conservation Area in Amherst.  There were many of these blooms but very few that hadn’t been battered by the rains.  And after last night’s thunder storms I imagine any that weren’t tight buds are not looking too good today.  At least I was fortunate enough to find this one.Swamp-Rose-070314-600WebSwamp Rose (Rosa palustris).  This is along the boardwalk and that nipped stem must be from the conservation commission folks grooming the trails.

On another note, traffic on the blog has dropped lately.  Was it something I said?  🙂  Any suggestions for raising the number of visitors/likes/comments would be appreciated.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 07.04.2014 Swamp Rose

  1. Andrew says:

    My numbers are up, Steve. I think people have deserted you and come across for the Portugal river boat saga. Normal service will be resumed soon.

    Like

  2. Jim in IA says:

    That is a beautiful rose. Nice composition in your photo.

    I attribute the decrease this week to the holiday. It has happened on other holidays for me in the past years. It will pick up again. You offer quality people appreciate.

    Happy 4th.

    Like

  3. The name “swamp rose” and your mention of a boardwalk make me think this rose really does tend to grow in wet places.

    As for blog traffic falling off, I’ve undergone periods like that too, and usually for no reason I can discern. One way you can try to increase visits is by leaving more comments on other people’s blogs. You can see who has left good comments on blogs that you like, and then visit those commenters’ blogs. As part of that approach, you can visit the links that many people (like you yourself) have in their sidebars. Also, if you know any other languages well enough, you could leave comments on blogs written in those languages. English is often the lingua franca of blogs anyhow, and I’ve noticed plenty of comments in English on blogs written in other languages.

    Like

    • I do comment on other folks’ blogs, Steve. Several of them are now missing in action for one reason or another. If someone comments here I’ll follow up most often, but there is not enough time to pursue every person that way….which of course could be the major reason others don’t have the time to visit here.
      Yes, it does grow in wet places. A similar rose, Rosa carolina, the Pasture Rose or Carolina Rose, can be found in drier places.

      Like

  4. Mrs Swamp Rose looks enticing and the photo is beautiful. Now about the traffic to your blog. Your followers might not to be getting notices as that same thing happened to me.Now most of WP folks were/are going to spam and I did not realize that for quite a while. One thing that might be a factor is posting to often such as virtuallyy everyday. I am finding it difficult to keep up with you and Andrew. Could you not post some of these shots as one post- say x2 weekly or even weekly?

    Quality not quantity. 🙂

    Like

  5. Lottie Nevin says:

    Earlier this year, we had a flower very similar in colour to your Swamp Rose (great name!) that grew wild in and around the campo. As for blog traffic, mine goes up and down like the proverbial yo-yo. I must confess that I find it hard to keep up with peep’s posts if they post everyday; I follow many blogs and try to comment on everyones – it could just be that some of your followers don’t have the time – I’m sure that it’s nothing personal! Try Yvonne’s idea of just posting 2 or 3 times a week and see if that helps? I echo Jim in IA’s comment ‘you offer quality that people appreciate’ – I hope that things pick-up soon 😀

    Like

    • I think it may be a combination of several things and also possibly none of them and just coincidence. I will try fewer per week and, as I just mentioned to Yvonne, I’ll “buddy” them up. The reason I say none is that I know a few bloggers who post daily and are quite popular. So for some it may be the frequency is too much and for others they just don’t come by as much for any number of reasons. At least we know it isn’t halitosis. :-).
      I am going to reduce the number of posts to see what happens, but mostly because my valued commenters request it and I want you guys to keep coming back for more. 🙂

      Like

  6. It is a gorgeous photo and your posts are always appreciated…Traffic is down as a result of the holiday and summer. It will bounce back.

    Like

  7. Beautiful image Steve, with me I spend so much time with all the other social sites trying to drum up business for my portrait photography that I can’t concentrate on my blog so my hits and comments are down as well. When I was posting 4 or 5 times a week like I could a few years back I was getting a tremendous amount of traffic but now it is so spread out I still think I am posting in front of as many as I did before it is just now being seen in so many other outlets.

    Like

  8. Nothing you are doing, Steve. I love your blog for the beautiful images and the way your personality comes through. I’ve been noticing that people seem to drop out of the community after awhile, and then it takes time for new people to find you.
    Love this rose…bet it smelled wonderful, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

