06.24.2014 Some Leps

Here are two little winged creatures.  One whose name I know and one that I don’t.  Moths are difficult for me.  I just can’t seem to learn the markings that help narrow things down.  There are thousands of species and some differ from others by the tiniest of variations in lines or dots or patches.  At least most, unlike some other insects, don’t require the dissection of their genitals for a solid ID.  I’ll leave that to others.

Here, for your approval, is subject A…..the Besma endropiaria-Straw Besma.Straw-Besma-maybe-600WebAnd our subject B, all bedecked in the finest of Dewellery.Dewy-Moth-062214-600WebI don’t know the species name for this and hope that its dewy appeal is enough without a title.
Thanks for visiting the blog.  Your likes and comments are much appreciated.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Insects, Lepidoptera, Moths, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 06.24.2014 Some Leps

  1. Lyle Krahn says:

    Dewellery – a new word and a wonderful photo to demonstrate its beauty. Yes I approve.

    Like

  2. Moths are difficult for nearly everyone, except experts. I love the last especially.

    Like

  3. The bad thing about moths is that there are thousands of species. The good thing about moths is that there are thousands of species, so there’s often one at hand for you to photograph.

    Like

  4. bythebriny says:

    Wow, the wings of the first one remind me of a fringed lace shawl. Beautiful!

    Like

  5. Your photos are amazing, the detail is stunning.

    Like

  6. Aaah yes, leave it to Rod for those great new words. He used one I had not heard before in a comment on one of my posts. The word was minkies, used in association with small things such as lizards, caterpillars, etc. I love the word, minky.

    But for some reason, I seldon see a moth except for those dull grayish brown ones that come uninvited into the house looking for something made of wool to eat.

    Back to the crux of the matter. I think I like photo number two in all of its dewellery glory. I’m not overly fond of moths but these two are quite pretty.

    Like

    • Moths are truly wonderful little critters, Yvonne. The ones that go after your woolies are giving the rest a bad name. There are some also that get into our grains. The majority just go about their business and the variety surpasses and the beauty rivals that of butterflies IMO. I’ll try to post a few more so you can see for yourself since so few visit you.

      Although I don’t attend a church, I do believe I would attend Rod’s on occasion to hear his homilies or sermons which I have to believe are entertaining as well as uplifting based on his wit and imagination. I hope we get to enjoy another of his posts soon.

      I am not familiar with minky as you are using it, but I do remember that it was Inspector Clouseau’s pronunciation of monkey. 🙂

      Like

      • Oh well monkey/minky, I like minky the best. He used minky for the butterflies or the lizards. I just not remember which. I don’t go to church either but like you, I’d attend Rod’s chiurch because the entire servie would be uplifting and refreshing and good for the soul.

        Like

  7. Andrew says:

    Steve, many do need gen dissec to be ID’d for sure. Especially the micros. In Asia so many species are still undescribed. I love the second moth. Quite a bobby dazzler.

    Like

    • I won’t even consider pinning leps so dissecting their privates isn’t of interest….I just don’t want to know badly enough.
      So many new words and phrases lately. I had to Google bobby dazzler. I am sure you mean good looking rather than the Australian TV show. 🙂

      Like

  8. donna213 says:

    I just saw a similar moth today and have no clue how to identify it. Very nice captures.

    Like

  9. These are awesome Steve !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

