06.23.2014 Tully Lake Sunrise

About two weeks ago I was driving by this spot with a friend when I noticed the sun’s location and thought it would be good for sunrise someday soon.  I woke early this morning, couldn’t get back to sleep and thought “What the heck, it’s 3:30, I might as well do the 1 hour drive up to Tully Lake for 5:00 sunup”.  There were a few clouds in the north as I set out which looked like they would drift right into the position I wanted.  By the time I got there they had not moved and did get colorful but to the north and behind the trees.  That’s nature for ya’.  You take what you are given and I did make this image with the drifting fog catching a little color over the lake.Tully-Lake-Sunrise-062314-800WebI think the rocks have some long exposure possibilities.

A short while later the sun broke the horizon.Tully-Lake-Sunrise-2-062314-800Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Central Massachusetts, Landscape, Nature Photography, Water and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 06.23.2014 Tully Lake Sunrise

  1. Very nice. Love the subtle colors and the wisp of a cloud in the background.The rocks help make the photo complete. Awakening at 3:30am is the pits but that is what happens to me sometimes. At least you are able to get up and be productive. I work crossword puzzles until I get sleepy again.

    Like

  2. It is difficult to make sunrise (and sunsets) looks different, but you succeeded. I like this very much, nice composition, colours, and some surprise.

    Like

  3. Lyle Krahn says:

    The colours and composition are wonderful. But it must have been a lot of work to move those rocks in a line:)

    Like

    • Thanks, Lyle. You could be more correct than you may have thought. I was standing on the edge of the boat launch so it is entirely possible that they were placed in a line as a guide.OTOH, that is asking for a boat to crush itself on the way in. I’ve never been there until today so I don’t know.

      Like

  4. Just Rod says:

    I really like the colours and reflections in the first image. The solid quality if the ticks sets off the fragility and wispiness of the dog/cloud.

    The second image gives a sense of cool morning sir and a fresh breeze coming with the sun. Let’s get the canoe out and go paddling.

    Like

    • Just Rod says:

      Sir should be air. Proof read before pushing send Rod!

      Like

    • I do that all too often as well, Rod. Sometimes they get by me after a proof read. I now read twice and even then on occasion….

      Funny you should mention a canoe. As I mentioned above, I was at a boat launch and there was a pickup truck and boat carrier next to where I parked. I was sure a canoe, kayak or boat would float into the scene but luck was with me and they stayed hidden somewhere. Thanks.

      Like

  5. Beautiful work Steve !!

    Like

  6. Sunbursts are so pretty. This one is excellent as the sun barely peaks over the line of trees with the fine mist/fog rising from the water.

    Like

  7. Neato-o keen-o, especially for the first one. The early bird catches the worm of sunrise.

    Like

  8. quabbinite says:

    Boy did you get there on the right day! I love a good sunrise steam.

    Like

    • Thanks, q. I had considered a long exposure shot, but didn’t as when I have done that before the steam turns into a solid mass of fog with no character. So the texture of the water remains but it is a little interesting too, I think.

      Like

  9. Sandra says:

    The sunstar is great, thumbs up for the second pic!
    I’m very fond of long exposures because they calm down the atmosphere of a photo and I think the photos would benefit from it – especially with the stones in the foreground. The choppy water takes the silence a bit away from the morning mood.

    Like

    • Thanks, Sandra.
      A while back I posted this shot https://sggphoto.wordpress.com/2014/04/20/04-20-2014-owens-pond-redux/. In a conversation we had on FB I showed you another that was not a long exposure and the difference was the low wispy fog.. You can see in the link what happens to the wisps in a long exposure. I made the choice that I wanted the wisps and could live with the water’s texture. But I do agree that the rocks could work well in a long exposure. As I mentioned above…another day……one that doesn’t require leaving the house at 3:330 am. 🙂

      Like

      • Sandra says:

        I know… the one from the link is one of your best! I hope you have chosen it for your exhibition, too 🙂
        I reckon that choppy water in landscapes is the same for me as foam in waterfalls for you =D

        Like

      • It takes all types. I get complaints about silky waterfalls from folks who think there should be more water detail. 🙂 It’s interesting you say that about the link. In our FB chat you liked the one with more wispy fog detail better. 🙂 I did not include that in the exhibit.

        Like

Leave a Reply

