06.17.2014 Rock Art

Sunday was a lackluster day for me.  A rough hike, by my standards which are pretty low, on Saturday took a bit more out of me than I expected.  So I just rode around the Quabbin Park with nothing much in mind and noticed this bit of color and abstract pattern.  I hope you like it.

Grass-in-rock-cracks-Quabbin-061514-600WebIn part, this was inspired by the work of Guy Tal.  If you are not familiar with Guy’s work I suggest clicking on his name and taking a few minutes to wander through his portfolios.  His is the work of a true artist.  I would also recommend his blog/essays.  Always very thoughtful and well written explorations of ideas and creativity.

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Intimate Landscape, Patterns in Nature, Photographer's Websites, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 06.17.2014 Rock Art

  1. Thanks for the reminder about Guy Tal. That guy is quite a landscape photographer.

    Like

  2. I like the rock art very much. The colors of blue, gray, pink and off set by the fine blades of green grass are beautifiul. I like subtle colors that only nature can provide.

    I cheked out Tal’s blog site and he is top notch. I didn’t take much time to read his blog but it’s apparent that he uses lightroom or whatever to enhance those spectacular nature photos.

    Like

  3. Lyle Krahn says:

    i do like the photo. I also have enjoyed reading Guy Tal’s blogs – he usually provides a thotful perspective.

    Like

  4. Hi

    I love these little bits of detail. I think they form the building blocks of beauty in some ways and you’ve illustrated that here. Also, thanks for turning me on to Guy Tal. His work is most interesting.

    James

    Like

  5. I like it too. I’ve always been drawn to the patterns and textures in rocks. I know what you mean about fatigue. I used to be able to cover quite a lot of territory when out in the field, but this season I’m finding myself fairly wiped out. I guess what we lose in range we gain in depth 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, Melissa. It is disappointing when we set out with a plan only to have age slow us down. I am working on getting back near where I used to be but it is much tougher. It would be nice if we could combine range and depth, wouldn’t it? 🙂

      Like

  6. Phil Lanoue says:

    Good eye to spot and photograph this scene.

    Like

Leave a Reply

