06.12.2014 Follow me!

Today I visited Goldmine Brook Falls in Chester, MA.  I want to give a big plug to Greg Parsons and Kate B. Watson for their book, New England Waterfalls, as I would never have found this without them.  They review over 400 waterfalls and cascades throughout the six states with directions which can be very helpful. Although the highway is within view of the waterfall, from the road one would not know it was there.

I will post a few images from today’s trip later, but for now I just wanted to share my new friend who volunteered to guide me in from the road.  I mentioned that I had directions, but he would not hear of me going it alone.  He even offered to carry my gear, but that was unnecessary.Goldmine-Brook-Falls-with-Red-Eft-061214-600Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Fauna, Landscape, Nature Photography, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 06.12.2014 Follow me!

  1. quabbinite says:

    I see you captured a little critter in this already-gorgeous shot to add to the ambiance. My kids love those little guys. Very nice waterfall….May have to see it for myself someday.

    Like

  2. Eric Todd says:

    I’ve been to Goldmine several times, its a great “secret” location. Looks like its running low already. Nice capture.

    Like

    • I’m no longer the mountain goat I once was, Eric. Managing the rocks was a bit of a challenge for me and there were a few vantage points I didn’t try this time. I didn’t mind the flow as when stronger a lot of the “character” of the water is lost. It would have been a rush though to be there under a strong flow…..it was pretty loud, but not loud enough to drown out the sound of trains passing by. It was at least 10° cooler in there…I could see my breath.

      Like

  3. I see from Wikipedia that “the strikingly colored (orange) juvenile stage [of a newt], which is land-dwelling, is often known as the red eft.” Given that the falls you show are in Massachusetts, it’s not the case that you left your eft in San Francisco.

    Like

  4. Phil Lanoue says:

    That’s great seeing the cute little orange guy in the foreground of this terrific waterfall shot.

    Like

  5. An orange newt. First time to see one of those critters. This surely is a gorgeous waterfall. Lovely pic for sure.

    Like

    • I am pretty sure that it is an eastern species, Yvonne, so they are not likely in your neighborhood.
      Thanks, I am looking forward to going again when the spring melt happens.

      Like

  6. Lottie Nevin says:

    Ooooh, I like that orange newt. How splendid! I wonder why he’s so bright? He sticks out like a sore thumb…..no, that doesn’t sound right, sore…..oh, wot eva as they say in London!
    It’s always good to get the thumbs up about new places, I checked out the link to the book – maybe they will publish some of your photos?! 😀

    Like

    • The orange probably tells predators that they don’t taste very good I think, Lottie. Red does that in nature and some orange species too like our Monarch butterfly.
      I let them use an image of mine on their website. It would be nice if they used one or several in the next edition,if there is one, but he is an avid photographer himself and it keeps costs down using his so I am not hopeful.

      Like

Leave a Reply

