06.09.2014 More Daisies

I am still laying low and allowing my leg to heal.  I did not follow Yvonne’s advice and did a little too much yesterday with the firewood so the leg is sore once more.  Tomorrow I have a hike to a waterfall planned with a new acquaintance so I am laying very low today.

It’s not a very strenuous amble to the daisy patch in the backyard, so I spent a little while with them this morning.  I hope you don’t mind a repeat performance with them.  This first image was a bit of an experiment.  I don’t usually do the shoot through type of focus, but every once in a while it works.  The Grass Pink in the gallery announcement was done that way using grasses as the foreground imitation of pea soup.  Today it’s an out of focus daisy in the foreground.Oxeye-Daisy-2-060914-600WebI could have combined two images with both flowers tack sharp or done a stack but I’d rather focus on the distant bloom for something a little different.

While I was at it, here is a more (for me) traditional treatment.Oxeye-Daisy-1-060914-600WebI hope you like daisies, because there may be more. It’s hard to resist when they are right outside my door.  🙂

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 06.09.2014 More Daisies

  1. Daisies are always hard to resist! I love the crispness of the second one, and the first one is pretty cool.
    By the way, I looked on your website for a way to purchase the grass pink photo, but didn’t really understand what I was reading. Would it be possible to buy it as a print? I’m a little afraid to ask, how much would it be?

    Like

  2. Aaah gee, Steve. “We live and learn” as they say. Hope your leg or hip or back is soon up to snuff again. However, I’m not one to really offer advice since I can not seem to follow my own. I’m behind it comments because I dug some holes in my butterfly garden using a grubbing hoe. I’ll never know what posssessed me to do that since my body is way out of commission and I weigh all of 110 lbs. I really did not have the strength for “grubbing” and hurt my back and hips digging only 2 holes. All of that made me sick for several days. I was in a lot of pain.

    But back to here and now. The daisies are so pretty. I think I like the last pic the best although for something different the sharp one to the left with the blurred daisy is nice too.

    Like

    • That’s just being human, Yvonne. We rarely follow our own advice, especially when it comes to things we have always done with no difficulty. I hope you are feeling better and even more better tomorrow. If you must dig holes or anything else strenuous, go slow and take time to recover before the next one.
      Thanks for the comments on the daisies. I do flowers in a very similar manner from one to the next and am trying to add some different appearances to the mix. Variety is the spice of floral photography. 🙂

      Like

  3. Thanks, Steve. I’m not in pain anymore. 🙂

    Like

  4. Andrew says:

    More wonders from the backyard, Steve. You should stay home more often.

    Like

  5. Phil Lanoue says:

    Loving the composition on that first shot especially. Good eye to spot that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

