06.07.2014 A pick me up

I woke this morning not sure of where to go or what to do.  Today is the first day of my vacation, although it really starts on Tuesday since I don’t work Saturday, Sunday or Monday, but we’ll say today is vacation.  Upon leaving the house I thought “Why not check out Gunn Brook Falls?” as it is a favorite spot and I haven’t been there this year.Lower-Gunn-Falls-with-Upper-Falls-in-view-2-031812-800NSNNice place, huh?  This is not from today, though.  It is from March of 2012.  As I approached the top of the foreground falls I saw something that just sank my heart.  Some local folks decided this was their new party spot and had dragged a bunch of wooden pallets for a bonfire.  That wasn’t all…they also cut down a couple of trees and made a huge pile of beer cans to worship, I suppose.  Although this was all at the top of the falls, I just no longer had any interest in photographing there and left.  It is private land and I doubt if the owners like this but as there has been similar activity elsewhere on the property, it seems they don’t care to start a ruckus about it either.

So I hiked back out and drove away.

I didn’t want to head home as it was still very early and it seemed that I should go elsewhere and let nature lift my spirits.  I also had not been to Hawley Bog in a while so I headed in that direction.

Hawley Bog is a 65 acre mat of peat floating on an old pond.  It is about 30 feet thick and a boardwalk has been constructed to protect the delicate ecosystem.  After following a path through the woods you are greeted with a stream flowing into the bog to keep everything nice and moist.Hawley-Bog-060714-600WebThe boardwalk is fairly short once you reach the peat mat and I was looking for Northern (or Purple) Pitcher Plants (Sarracenia purpurea).  There were several but photographing them while staying on the boardwalk is a little tricky and a view from below is just about impossible.  I had hoped for a nice view into the flower with the bright blue sky above ala Steve Schwartzman but that was not to be.  I settled for this:Pitcher-Plant-Flower-060714-600WebAnd…as this vacation is not being spent in Maine photographing among other things Bunchberry (Cornus canadensis) flowers, Hawley Bog gave me one as a farewell when I started out and toward home.Bunchberry-060714-600WebSo a day that started out pretty gloomy turned into a bright sunny day with a couple of pleasing images.  I am still upset about Gunn Brook Falls, but nature did serve up a nice bit of balm.  Now time to stack some of next winter’s firewood.

Thanks for bearing with my story. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 06.07.2014 A pick me up

  1. Lottie Nevin says:

    Steve, I bet your heart sank – I know how much you love that place 😦 but you’ve captured some gorgeous images today, really superb. As you’ve probably gathered, I’m a huge fan of your flower photographs but when I look at them, I always wonder what size they are? – the flowers that is! I’m intrigued as you photograph so much flora that I’ve not seen before and I’d love to get some idea of plant size. Have a great weekend and enjoy your vacation 😀

    Like

    • Thanks, Lottie. These flowers are variable in height. This one was about 18″/45cm tall with the flower’s diameter around 2″/5cm. There were shorter ones and smaller flowers but I picked the tallest. 🙂
      I’ll share my vacation here as things develop. Not sure what I am going to be doing photographically from one day to the next. 🙄

      Like

      • Lottie Nevin says:

        Thanks, Steve. That’s interesting, they are much bigger than I had thought. It’s difficult to gauge size of flowers especially when they are shot in macro – everything looks HUGE! 😉 really appreciate your feedback, thanks

        Like

  2. I always love reading whatever you write. All the photos are wonderful. Notice, I use wonderful a lot but that word fits my impression of your photographic endeavors. It is sad to read about how trespassing individuals disregard the environment and personal property. But I’m glad that you found the flowers which really lifts my spirit. I am behind on many of my favorite blogger’s posts and hope to begin to catch up tonight and tomorrow. I think you’ve posted maybe 4-5 that I have not yet read. I hope your vacation is a relaxing and satisfying. Don’t overdo iifting all that wood.

    Like

    • Thank you, Yvonne. I try to be entertaining, but am not in the league with You, Andrew, Lottie, Rod, Penny, Diva in absentia or Ebenezer. 🙂
      It really is a shame that people feel the need to leave trash behind. It looked as though they cut the trees to have somewhere to sit. 😦
      I try not to overdo things any more. I used to keep going until it was past too far, but now I just take my time and do things in stages.

      Like

      • Steve, for goodness sake. You write very well and I think you could write about your evolution as a photographer and what it means to you. I just know the story/stories would be excellent. I am not much of writer. I just put down information. I wish I could write with the flair and interest of Andrew and Lottie. I don’t read Penny but I’m sure that she is good as well. I really like Rod’s ability to tell a story as I find him very entertaining and funny.

        But if you will look above, I spelled lifting as (iifiting) I reckon that is a new word. I’m not proof reading apparently, so please excuse. i’ll try to improve. 🙂

        Like

  3. Very nice photography, Steve.

    Like

  4. Andrew says:

    A very sad start and I hope maybe the owner will try to restore the natural habitat without beer cans etc. The other shots are a true tonic. I’m heading towards a greater appreciation of the broader vista photos – maybe you start doing diptychs. Or in my case, a dipstick.

    Like

    • Thanks, Andrew. Yeah, that was disheartening. Not quite as bad as a conservation land being taken for luxury high rise apartments like in HK, but still quite sad.
      Funny you should suggest that. I gave some thought to shooting the carnage and juxtaposing it to the original shot, but then decided that there was no way I wanted to “immortalize” such a scene and when I post here I am preaching to the choir so why share the shock.

      Like

  5. What a rich red pitcher plant, much hotter in color than the Texas species. And what a nice crisp Cornus flower. That’s two rewards, even if no waterfall this time.

    Like

  6. Lyle Krahn says:

    Those falls look wonderful so I can certainly understand your gloom. It seems some people don’t have a lot of respect for a natural state. At least you saved the day. Have a great holiday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

