06.04.2014 Double Lighting on a Lovely Lady

Possibly my last Lady’s Slipper post for the season.  Unless I find something special like this.  Usually I find Lady’s Slippers early in the am before the sun has hit the sky which keeps the breezes under control and the lighting even.  Pretty much what I prefer for all flower photography.  But sometimes the sun can be quite an asset and in this backlit situation I liked the effect.  Unfortunately, the dark side of the flower was a little too dark but a small reflector shining back onto the bloom balanced this enough to give me what I felt is a pleasing effect.  I hope you agree.Pink-Lady's-Slipper-backlit-600Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to 06.04.2014 Double Lighting on a Lovely Lady

  1. Andrew says:

    The backlit effect is excellent Steve. Can’t go wrong with one of these!

    Like

  2. Very interesting and beautiful. I thought for a moment you broungt this lady to some sort of studio, but better not pick them I guess. Elegant result!

    Like

    • Thanks, Bente. I never pick wildflowers. The only alteration I will make is something that can be undone….like using a stick to hold back a plant but allowing it to spring back after removing the stick when finished. Nature first then photography. 🙂

      Like

  3. bythebriny says:

    Lovely specimen and great image.

    Like

  4. Lottie Nevin says:

    A very pleasing effect. being back lit certainly brings out every detail on the flower, even her hairy legs! 😉

    Like

  5. Let me add my compliments~ this is a beautiful work of art.

    Like

  6. Just Rod says:

    Beautiful. Did you put up a black screen behind the object?

    Like

    • No way, José…I mean Rod. The light was coming from a slight angle behind the flower and the reflector allowed the bloom to be lit brightly enough on both sides that the background naturally approached black. When seen against a black background you can tell that the dark in the image is green with the slightest of detail. Had I put anything behind the flower then the backlight would have been blocked.
      Years ago I used to carry 1 yard swatches of different fabrics to use in the background of images, but quite honestly it looked like crap. I also have a large print of an out of focus view of the green foliage in my back yard. I don’t use that anymore either. I still carry a piece of black velvet, but I use that over my head in bright light so I can compose on my LiveView screen better like the old view camera cloths. 🙂

      Like

      • Just Rod says:

        Thanks for all the information Steve. I am imagining you with black velvet draped over you and the camera :). Sounds like a great idea.
        I haven’t looked at the image on a larger screen yet to detect the colour and detail in the background.

        Like

      • I am always happy to share how I go about making an image, Rod. Don’t expect much detail…more like the hint of a ghost.
        It really makes a difference when you are looking into the light especially and the sun is in your eyes as you try to see what is on the screen in front of you. It is much easier to assess focus and composition when there is nothing else competing for your visual attention. And maybe one might hear someone say as they pass…”Hey, the guy must be a professional”. 😀

        Like

  7. Wonderful. The reflector has got to be the most under-rated tool in photography. The use here is masterful and inspired me to get my out of the trunk!

    Like

    • Thanks, James. I have two. The large is a 30″ five-in-one that has golds and silvers on the inside and outside of the cover and then a diffuser on the inside which is invaluable on a sunny day. It also can be used to shade a background. The other is only 12″ and is good for reflecting onto a small area and is what did the deed in this image.

      Like

  8. No doubt about it: you got it right.

    As soon as I glanced at your orchid it reminded me of a heart (an anatomical one, not the stylized symmetric shape we call a heart).

    Like

  9. Really beautiful image, Steve. I think black does the trick when photographing flowers.

    Like

    • Thank you, Yvonne. When I was first learning to photograph flowers, my workshop instructor stressed finding dark backgrounds for the portraits. I try to have just a hint of light and detail when possible.

      Like

  10. The double lighting here may have contributed to this becoming one of your most commented-on photographs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

