05.31.2014 A successful hike

I overslept this morning again.  This is getting to be a bad habit.  Too bad too because the sky to the north looked fabulous in a soft pastel way.  But that was not my goal for today.

I almost went to High Ledges last week to look for Yellow Lady’s Slippers.  High Ledges is a Massachusetts Audubon sanctuary that was formerly owned by Dutch and Mary Barnard who donated it to the organization for future enjoyment and protection.  I am sure much of what is there came naturally, but I also know that they were great stewards of their property and planted and did a little arranging of rocks and fallen trees to add to the ambiance. I figured since everything was a week or more late I would wait for today.  Bingo!  Although the first plant I saw had become a deer’s munch, there were three plants in flower for a total of four blooms.  The other plants don’t seem to be forming buds or maybe they are more behind than the others.  Yellow-Lady's-Slipper-2-High-Ledges-053114-600WebOne additional misfortune that comes with oversleeping is that, as the sun rises and warms the air, breezes begin to stir so it took a lot of patience to get a frame with motionless plants.

Note the flower above in the blurry background.  Here it is blurless:Yellow-Lady's-Slipper-High-Ledges-053114-600WebThere are also many Pink Lady’s Slippers there along with lots of other wildflowers…..Yup, Painted Trillium too  🙂 but for today I was suffering from tunnel vision and only had eyes for these.

I am not sure what tomorrow will bring but today was a good hike and a re-acquaintance with these lovelies that I have not visited for a couple of years.  I am really very happy that they endure.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Massachusetts Audubon, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 05.31.2014 A successful hike

  1. I’m glad to see the ladies’ slippers didn’t slip away from you even if the early morning hours did. I don’t go out at the wee hours you do, and consequently I struggle more with the wind than you probably do.

    Like

  2. Andrew says:

    I’m not sure which I prefer Steve. The lower photo is more classical but the first is a splendid composition, more tiered than layered. But I know what you mean about oversleeping. I do it every afternoon.

    Like

  3. I’ve been meaning to drop by here for a while, Steve. Just now I saw the RSS of your post go by with these incredible images. Very fine job indeed. What a beautiful flower.

    Like

    • I’ve been meaning to stop by your blog too, David. I am sure I’ve missed a bunch of good stuff.
      Thanks. These are lovely flowers and I try to visit them every year although I have missed the last couple.

      Like

  4. Lottie Nevin says:

    Oh Steve! These are perfect, absolutely perfect. I don’t know what more I can add without sounding too gushing! but you know what I mean – How’s the tick on your backside btw? 😀

    Like

    • Thanks, Lottie. Gush away…it makes us both feel good.
      Hang on….let me get the old iPhone out for a selfie of the bite….. 😈
      It’s doing well…the bite, not the tick. It looked a little worrisome for a day but then faded away. Sheesh, don’t let Yvonne hear that I got a tick bite.

      Like

  5. Mark says:

    Nice shots Steve. You certainly found them in peak condition for sure. I can relate to that pesky later morning wind!

    Like

  6. So beutiful lady slippers, they are great.

    Like

  7. Mystery upon mystery raised by the asymmetrical form. The paired leaves become the shoe laces or decorative ribbands. Very fluffy slippers for a cool spring morn.

    One tick bite? I’ve dozens. They wreak havoc along with the chiggers. This is the most prolific gaggle of ticks I’ve ever encountered. They drop from the leaves like stealth paratroopers. You build up an immunity to the toxins, but must be diligent at the end of the day’s labors in the gardens to examine the embattled old integument for new wayfarers.

    Like

    • You have quite the way with words, Eb. I enjoyed the entire tick paragraph…..except for the fact that ticks were involved. If I did not take the precautions that I do then there is no way I could just have one bite. I do a very thorough search and destroy on the old integument.

      Like

  8. I’m so happy to see these lovelies thriving. We have a population here in one of our preserves, but it is dwindling despite careful stewardship. We are not sure what we are doing wrong.

    As to ticks… careful search of the old integument ensues! LOL

    Like

    • Nature’s ecological balance is tricky for sure, Melissa. I hope you are able to pinpoint either the cause of problems or need of your lady’s slippers so they can do well.
      Absolutely….even with my tick proof clothing I still do a thorough once over to be sure. So far, since I started wearing the treated clothes, I have found not a single little blood sucker.

      BTW….if you are still interested, I am planning to fix the website for direct sales once I get my exhibit hung on Tuesday.

      Like

Leave a Reply

