05.25.2014 First of the Year

This morning was a fooler.  I left the house around 5:30 which would have been late for sunrise, but we were fogged in so I felt no urgency.  As I drove up the hill through Pelham towards Quabbin the fog thinned and there were some nice clouds that must have lit up brilliantly as the sun rose.  Ah well.  These things happen…to me anyway.

I decided, since I was there, to walk the part of the New England Trail that starts in Pelham and goes through Shutesbury.  Keeping with the plan, I had never walked this before so it seemed a good time to check it out.  It’s a nice trail and well maintained for easy hiking.  On the way out, I noticed some Lady’s Slippers that I had not seen on the way in.  I usually try to do a round trip rather than just go in one direction.  We always see something on the way back we missed earlier.

So here is my first Pink Lady’s Slipper of 2014.Pink-Lady's-Slipper-NET,-Shutesbury-052514-600WebTomorrow I think I’ll try to find a few more.  I hope the white variety has returned  as well.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 05.25.2014 First of the Year

  1. Just getting caught up. The Lady Slippers really are back, but this is a great shot! Love the colors and the detail.

    Like

    • Thanks, James. I saw quite a few plants starting at my usual spot in Shutesbury but they were not quite ready. Maybe tomorrow. But it is nice to know that there are lots of places to find them. For a while their numbers have been dwindling. I just learned the other day that the major culprit may not be people digging them up…it’s the earthworms introducing fungus killing bacteria.

      Like

  2. Mark says:

    Nice one Steve. I don’t have any pink ones around me, they are found in the northern parts of Michigan mostly.

    Like

    • Thanks, Mark. Which do you have there? Showy maybe?

      Like

      • Mark says:

        Yeah, I do have some Showy’s that grow within about an hour, and now that you mention it, it is probably time for them to be showing up. Last year I either missed them or they didn’t grow in the same spot anymore. Given they are mostly in swamps, I also need to be prepared for the flying vampires.

        Like

  3. Lady slippers are so different and this is a lovely photo. The hiking trail sounds interesting.

    Like

  4. Lottie Nevin says:

    You must keep very fit with all this hiking and carrying your photographic gear around. It’s thrilling to see the flora and fauna in your neck of the woods, it’s so different from here. Oh that I could take such sharp, gorgeous photographs. Lady slippers, what a perfect name.

    Like

    • I could be fitter. Lottie. But the hiking and hauling is how I hope to make it into old age and still be out there shooting.
      Thank you for those kind remarks. Yes, there is so much variety among plants and their reproductive organs and strategies. Ain’t evolution something else? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

