05.24.2014 Dean Brookin’ it

Yep.  More from Dean Brook but this time three new parts.

I had been planning to visit Acadia in June the next, but a couple of things came up and I cancelled that plan.  One of those things was the realization that there are way too many places in my neighborhood that I have yet to visit.  This post shows three sections of Dean Brook that I had never set foot in until today.  Well, two but maybe three.  I’ll explain.

This first brook has no name according to Google Maps.  It seems like it might, but GM just shows it as a stream of water feeding into Dean Brook…hence its inclusion here as part of Dean Brook.  It is actually just a few long strides from my last Painted Trillium post.  I really like finding these neat little waterfalls in the middle of the woods.  It’s possible that I am the only one to ever photograph this.Houston-Gage-Brook-052414-600WebI recently chatted with Sandra Schänzer about photographing distant places which are often quite well known photography subjects as opposed to less visited local places.  I’ve decided to spend even more time locally this year.  Even though I am now working part-time, there never seems to be enough time for photography.

After visiting this spot, I wandered back up the trail and followed one that leads to a part of Dean Brook that is on the opposite side from where I usually visit.  I am going to have to give this area more exploration, but this is a start.Dean-Brook-Houston-Gage-052414-600WebAs you might be able to tell, the water was running quite hard.  I was worried the constant powerful flow would shake the tripod and camera, but it held pretty steady.  So did I. 🙂  You might notice a flow coming into the brook from the right near that curved tree.  That is where the previous brook enters Dean Brook.

While I was walking back up the trail from this spot, I noticed a waterfall at the bottom of the hill I was climbing and had a fair idea as to where it was along the road where I was parked.  Once on the road it was a short walk and short bushwhack to the spot with the falls.  There were a few ways to compose this, but for now, this is the angle I thought worked the best.  Another day may produce another angle.Dean-Brook-Waterfall-052414-600WebAfter all that, I hadn’t had enough and went to one more brook.  But that’s for another post.  I hope these images prove worth reading my rambling about all of this.  Sometimes I feel like I talk too much and should just follow the old Frank Zappa album title “Shut Up N Play Yer Guitar”.…only in my case, well obviously not a guitar. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 05.24.2014 Dean Brookin’ it

  1. Andrew says:

    There is much to be said for staying local. Or finding somewhere special to oneself. I have been reading Val Millett’s posts over the last day or so about the destructive fires at her canyon. Building a portfolio of local images is a really worthwhile project. All of these are very nice. The last one I like best for its wider angle. Looking forward to the next ones.

    Like

    • Thanks, Andrew. There are several folks posting from that area. It is terrible that someone started that fire…I haven’t read whether they think accidentally or not…and in human terms it will take forever to recover.
      I have to admit that the places I visit in Acadia are wonderful and I am sorry to not be going this year. But I am excited about what I will discover as I spread out here in my neck of the woods…..literally. 🙂

      Like

  2. Lyle Krahn says:

    No need to go far with places like this!

    Like

  3. Lottie Nevin says:

    Steve, these are enchanting. I really like how you photograph water, in the second photograph it almost looks like horse hair. I want to reach out and stroke it. It must be wonderful to walk through these woods and be at one with nature. I can imagine the smell of the place too. I say ‘Stay local’, you’ve got a captive and appreciative audience here 😀

    Like

    • Thank you, Lottie. I appreciate that very much. It is a wonderful way to spend time. Along with the smell of the woods is the sound of the water. I am not sure I could have heard an explosion while so close to the power of the water here….a raucous combination of the spring melt and the runoff from several days of rain, some of which was rather heavy.
      I’ll be posting local for the rest of the year. 🙂

      Like

  4. Just Rod says:

    Three great photos but there is something extra special about the last one.

    Glad you stayed near to home!

    Like

  5. Hi

    I agree with you, you neighborhood is amazing. These three shots are just wonderful, really capture the feel of being there. I believe I’m partial to the last because of the leading lines, but all are tremendous. As to your point, I also agree. If you keep going back, especially with the landscape, you’ll see something new almost every time.

    James

    Like

    • Hi James. Yes, returning often does make a difference. Not only do we find different lighting, but, in the case of water, the flow can vary giving cascades and waterfalls totally different appearances.
      Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

