05.19.2014 Another Painted Trillium but from a different location.

I’m not sure if this is the last…maybe there will be more.  It is from a different location…I’ve not made images there before…but it is just a half mile from yesterday’s spot.  Same road, different tract of land.

I am glad it was a weekday and no one came down the trail.  Saturday I was photographing the wet PT and someone came along while I was lying on the ground all curled up around my tripod.  She was a little spooked even though it was obvious what I was doing.  I hate answering “What are you looking at?” or”What are you doing?”.

Anyways….here is today’s blog star:Painted-Trillium-Houston-Gage-051914-600Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Flora, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 05.19.2014 Another Painted Trillium but from a different location.

  1. Just Rod says:

    So glad you took a different oath today. What a beauty

    Like

    • Rats…you beat me to it, Rod. Now I just may utter an oath or two. 😀
      It is a beaut. Not all are perfect or in their prime, but they are my favorite. These leaves are a bit darker than yesterday’s post which really makes the petals glow. Thanks!.

      Like

  2. Just Rod says:

    Oops. I’m sure you didn’t utter an oath darned autocorrect. Meant path.

    Like

  3. Andrew says:

    I like the perspective here, Steve. The leaf in the foreground is quite strong but does not disturb the balance. It’s a shame the season is so short.

    Like

    • Short seasons are what make these ephemerals so special, don’t you agree? It’s always a challenge to find a different perspective. I’ve placed a dominant leaf in the foreground before but not from this angle. Thanks, Andrew.

      Like

  4. Sandra says:

    I also have absolutely no idea what you were doing 😉 but the result is stunning!
    I’m glad that spring has finally arrived in Amherst and obviously it is Trillium high time 🙂 These flowers are really extremely beautiful and you have captured them in so many different poses and colours – looking forward to seeing some more before leaving for our trip!

    Like

    • I have at least one more post from the weekend’s crop. There may be more next weekend before they are passed. But the Lady’s Slippers are on their way now. 🙂
      We are still having the occasional chilly night, but Spring warmth is fully here now and pretty much all the trees and plants are green. Thanks, Sandra.

      Like

  5. Sandra says:

    So it is very likely I will miss your Lady’s Slippers – unless you remind me ole Lady when I’m online from time to time or when I’m back 🙂

    Like

  6. Phil Lanoue says:

    That is a real beauty for sure Steve!

    Like

  7. bythebriny says:

    Perfect light, awesome shot.

    Like

  8. Beautiful Steve, photographed my first ones this year !!

    Like

  9. Steve, I really thought that I had been keeping up and I could almost swear that I had commented on tjhis one but it seems there is no comment from me. I really like this pic. Lovely composition of such a beautiful flower.

    Like

  10. Pingback: 05.24.2014 Dean Brookin’ it | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

  11. Lottie Nevin says:

    Perfect in every way. These are remarkably beautiful flowers, thank you for introducing them to me. The spring flowers here are now starting to die back. There is still lots of colour but they are definitely past their best. I’m off out with my camera this morning to see what I can find.

    Like

    • Thank you, Lottie. These are the second tier of spring flowers with one more to follow before summer arrives and the meadow flowers start to bloom. I hope we will get to see your flowers. I’m eager to see the different species you find there. I know it will be a while since you just finished the harvest, but I hope you will share some olive flowers with us.

      Like

  12. It’s gorgeous indeed ! I love the little red veins on the petals. So, are you always taking flower shots with your tripod ? I’ve never really tried using it.. but it’s never too late to learn the right way, right?! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I rarely take any image without the tripod. The beaver I posted a while back was the rare handheld shot for me. My hands are too unsteady and shake now, so I don’t trust myself. I recommend them highly. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

