05.10.2014-2 Large-flowered Trillium

My earlier foggy post seems to have done a face plant.  So here are two images from this morning’s trip to see the aforementioned trillium .  As luck would have it, as soon as I located the single flower the rain started falling.  I managed a couple of images before it got to be too much as a light breeze started to accompany the shower.

T. grandiflorumLarge-flowered-Trillium-1-051014-600WebAnd a bit closer:Large-flowered-Trillium-2-051014-600WebI may return tomorrow when the flower may be a bit more erect and a typical composition  might be available (the rain caused the flower to droop a bit).  I’m happy to have seen it as it is the first for me outside of a planted “wild” garden.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Intimate Landscape, macro photography, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 05.10.2014-2 Large-flowered Trillium

  1. Andrew says:

    The top shot is magical. I love seeing it in location. Cracking good flower Steve. Made my flight.

    Like

  2. Lottie Nevin says:

    I agree with Andrew, it’s great seeing it in location. I’ve never seen these flowers before apart from your photographs. What a shame about the rain and the droop…. (I’m sure things will perk up when when the sun comes out) 🙂 but the droplets are beautiful.

    Like

    • Thanks, Lottie. I was disappointed that it started to rain, but the drops are nice and I got to see possibly the only one on the property. Today brings the sun and I agree that things will start to get going with a few warm days.

      Like

  3. Trillium grandiflorum really is grand. I think this photo is an excellent one in its natural habitat. I love the brown leaves carpeting the forest floor. I assume that it’s a forest or a wooded area. There is nothing to compare where I live with the likes of some of the wildflowers in your spot of the US.

    Like

    • Thank you, Yvonne. I also like the habitat image better of the two, but I can never resist up close and personal with a flower. Based on what I see coming from Steve Schwartzman’s Portraits of Wildflower blog, you have quite a number that we don’t here…and a much longer season to appreciate them as well. 🙂

      Like

  4. In Austin I’ve never had the thrillium of seeing a trillium. They don’t grow here, but four species are native in far east Texas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

