05.05.2014 On the Level with Trillum

I found this flower just hangin’ around on the forest floor in Mount Toby State Park yesterday.  Most often it is pretty difficult to get a good view into the flower but sometimes they are standing a little tall and living up to their Latin name Trillium erectum.  At that, I was still required to lie on my side with the tripod legs fully extended and the ball head tipped to the side.  Shockingly, I did not attract a single tick.Purple-Trillium-050414-600WebRegarding anything lyrical to accompany this, I haven’t found any music but I did run across this comic.  “Trillium#1TRILL_Cv1_3vf5lr6cju_The story of two lovers, 2800 years and millions of miles apart, who bring about the end of the Universe.  :mrgreen:

 

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 05.05.2014 On the Level with Trillum

  1. Andrew says:

    I think would have been worth a tick, Steve. Good to get the season off to a flying or rather lying start.

    Like

    • I’ve been lucky so far, Andrew. But I’ve not let the threat of ticks deter me yet. Probably not wise. A friend of mine got a disease called Ehrlichia and almost died. Tick borne disease that we don’t hear about much. I do take precautions though. Socks on the outside of my jeans and DEET sparayed on my legs and then a thorough inspection when home. So far so good.

      Like

  2. Lottie Nevin says:

    Steve, this is an AMAZING shot. I hope you didn’t put your back out taking it?! 😀

    Like

    • Thanks, Lottie. No, I am very careful about getting down and up. I’ve been nursing a herniated disc for a few years now and do not want to have any more flareups. Between that and arthritis along with numerous other age-related ailments I am spending more time not getting hurt (and complaining) than photographing. 😀

      Like

  3. Beautiful photo of a flower I have never seen.

    Like

  4. Dina says:

    Great photo!

    Like

  5. What a lovely shot of this trillium. I’ve been out belly-botanizing myself the past few days, and have gotten a few ticks this year. Not too bad, but tick-less days are always a boon, aren’t they? As are great shots of the plants we are stalking!

    Like

    • Belly-botanizing…I like that, Melissa. 🙂 Yeah, every time I come home tickless is a surprise and a cause for celebration. I just bought a couple of little plastic “spoon” with a little smaller than a tick-sized slot for removing them. I haven’t had to use one yet, but it seems to do the job…head and all. Thanks.

      Like

  6. Just Rod says:

    Another wonderful image Steve. Thanks for sharing the acrobatics involved in its capture. Glad you are tick free. Some nasty stuff comes with some of those hangers on.

    Like

  7. I was thrilled by the trillium photo. Beautiful. do be careful of the ticks.

    Like

    • I am careful, Yvonne. There is a new disease that ticks are spreading that is quicker to infect. Most reports are in New York state so far. Thanks, I am glad you enjoyed the Thrillium. 🙂

      Like

  8. Anything for the shot Steve and this is a awesome shot, ticks are another story, already had to remove five that were imbedded. Officials here said ticks wouldn’t be a problem this year because of the harsh winter…..right lol !!

    Like

    • Thanks, Bernie.
      We have heard the same prediction and I’ve heard that others are finding a lot as did you. So far I have been lucky, but I am taking precautions just the same and hope to not have to remove any this year.

      Like

Leave a Reply

