05.04.2014 Waiting for the Sun

No, this isn’t a review of that classic Doors album, although I did like it a lot, but a simple image of a bloodroot waiting for the sun’s warmth to open its petals.  This is at a site in Leverett, MA that was new to me although I’ve been meaning to check out the waterfall there.

Unfortunately, our odd weather has not been kind to the majority of wildflowers in my usual spots, but the bloodroot and purple trillium at Roaring Brook Falls in the Mount Toby State Park are going great and the forest floor was carpeted with them…..slight exaggeration, but there are a lot all over the place.

Here is a look at just the one waiting for a bit of solar radiation.Bloodroot-waiting-for-the-sun-050414-600webI really like wildflowers quite a bit and try my best to create portraits of them in as artistic a manner as I am able although I would never use that title since I have a blog friend who specializes in that genre. 🙂

I’ll save the trillium for a bit later on. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, macro photography, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 05.04.2014 Waiting for the Sun

  1. Phil Lanoue says:

    Looks good in a very nice background and setting Steve.
    I’m trying to come up with a song title that has ‘trillium’ in it, nothing yet. 🙂

    Like

  2. Beautiful and artistly arranged. You “done” a good job, Steve. The 27th of April was the last evening that I saw 2 White-throated sparrows drinking from the bird bath. I really miss their distinctive call and song. Do they nest in yards or do they prefer the woods and forests? They seem to like my “shubbery and woodsy” property.

    Like

    • Thanks, Yvonne!. I haven’t seen one in a few weeks. I believe they prefer northern climes in the summer and come south during the colder times.
      Here is what I found about their nesting habits on the Cornell website:
      Nest Description

      The female builds the nest mostly in the morning. She finds a depression in the ground and builds it up with pieces of moss. Next, she builds the nest walls using grass, twigs, wood chips, pine needles. She then makes a lining of fine grasses, rootlets, and deer hair. The nest is typically concealed from above by leaves and visible from only one side. The finished nest is 3-5.5 inches across on the outside, with an inner cup 1.7-4 inches across and 1-2.5 inches deep. White-throated Sparrows don’t reuse their nests.
      Nest Placement

      Ground

      Female White-throated Sparrows put their nests on or just above the ground, typically in level areas in clearings with dense ground vegetation. The nest is usually built under shrubs, grasses, or ferns, sometimes even beneath dead vegetation from the previous year. Birds sometimes put their nests off the ground, particularly if they lost a previous nest to a predator. These nests may be in roots of an upturned tree, brush piles, in shrubs or ferns, or as high as 10 feet up in a coniferous tree.

      http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/white-throated_sparrow/lifehistory

      Like

      • Just Rod says:

        The White Throated Sparrows are passing through here now on there was a little farther North, though some will park their fifth wheelers here for the summer.
        I love to hear them in the spring.

        Like

      • I think their song may be among my favorites, Rod…right there with the Wood Thrush.

        Like

      • Thanks Steve for the info. I should have/could have looked that up if I had been thinking. It seems I’m not thinking much of late.

        According to Cornell the White- throats nest in the forests of Canada but also in the northeastern US. So maybe they are just a state above Mass. All the info is very interesting. I read that at times they mate with the Junco. The lit describes the hybrids. Fascinating for sure.

        Like

  3. Andrew says:

    Isn’t there a band called Trillium? If not, there ought to be. Photo-rockers could form one. Its a very strong image, Steve.

    Like

  4. Just Rod says:

    Very nice image The water drops really add to the feeling. A fine portrait of a wild and crazy plant

    Like

  5. Beautiful work Steve !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

