05.02.2014 Golden Hour Fog

Here are a couple of images from April 12. I had been hoping to catch the sunrise through the fog over the Quabbin’s water, but it was so thick that my visualization just wasn’t going to happen.  So I went around the cove and did some scouting for another day when I noticed this point of the shoreline sticking out into the fog.Gate-5-fog-041214-600WebAfter a few minutes the fog began to thin and  warm light from the rising sun hit the inner cove and I made this image which I find particularly satisfying.Gate-5shoreline-041214-900WebThere are no questions about choosing monochrome for this one. 🙂

On Facebook recently, I shared someone else’s image of a crowd of photographers waiting for the sun to rise while they stood behind an arch out west…about to capture an iconic sunrise image that has been shot thousands of times.  While each day is different and each photographer’s technique is different, the idea of making an image similar to that which has been done thousands of times is not appealing to me.  It is possible that another local photographer has made a similar image to one of these but less likely and therefore much more personal for me and, I feel, better for sharing with others.

So no getting away without a question. 🙂

Do you see an ad at the bottom of this post?  If you do, is it bothersome?  Should I spend $30 to not have ads here?  Hah…3 questions for the price of one. 😀

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Water, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 05.02.2014 Golden Hour Fog

  1. I agree~this is an issue that crops up with painters as well and I always prefer to head in the other direction from the crowds. Your images here are, indeed, deeply satisfying. Thank you for sharing them!

    Like

    • Thanks you, Melissa. I would think about the only time painters wish to work in a crowd is when taking a class. Otherwise solitude would be the best. That’s pretty much how I feel about photography.

      Like

  2. Just Rod says:

    I don’t see an ad, I have never seen an ad on your posts, and so no, they haven’t bothered me – save your money towards another lens or gizmo 🙂
    Oh by the way – stunning photographs. I really like the first one – it’s the kind of wilderness sight I love to experience. The second is also beautiful; it has a romantic period quality to it – maybe set it to some Chopin

    Like

    • Oops. Sorry Rod. You may have got an email with my reply to Sandra.

      Thanks for the comments on the images. $30 is not much for an annual charge, but if no one is seeing them besides Sandra then I won’t worry about it.

      Like

  3. Phil Lanoue says:

    I love and foggy scene and these are excellent Steve.
    I do not currently see an ad here, but on mine I did spend the extra $ just so nobody would have to deal with any. I see ads on other blogs and they don’t drive me insane or anything, it’s not a huge big deal I don’t think.

    Like

    • Thanks, Phil. Most of the ads I see are not that bad…Sandra showed me a screen capture of what she was seeing and there weren’t any boobs…but when I preview my post there is a box saying that there might be ads.

      Like

  4. Sandra says:

    I do see the ads and they do sometimes bother me as they are sometimes inappropriate…. Honestly, I don’t want to see boobs below one of your beautiful pictures 😮 I perhaps see them because I am not logged in as a WP user; this would explain why others don’t see them.

    Anyway…. the second photo is so atmospheric and beautiful. And as we have discussed already, I think this is one of those locations that only work with local knowledge. In any other case, it is just coincidence but nothing wrong with being in the right place on the right time either 😉

    Like

    • I don’t want anyone seeing boobs or anything else below my images, Sandra. They might distract attention. I am sorry you are seeing the ads.
      Yup, a little local knowledge certainly is an advantage for scouting locations. Photographer’s Ephemeris is also very helpful to see where the sun will rise to help choose a viewpoint and knowing what is the right time to be there. Is there a European version of PE?

      Like

  5. Mark says:

    Huh, don’t see any adds. Definitely like the photos though – especially the second where the light is just creeping in. Moments like that don’t come often.

    Like

  6. Andrew says:

    No ads here Steve. Sandra must have all the boobs. I increasingly stay local and I think it pays dividends. The lower image is delightful and absolutely right in colour.

    Like

    • Local is good, Andrew. You have an abundance of possibilities there as I saw in “Hong Kong Nature Landscapes”. Lots of beautiful birds and insects along with some interesting flowers. A lot more economical too.

      Like

  7. Photo number one is very dramatic. I really like the trees that lend some mystery to the pic. The color pic is excellent with the warm glow.

    Like

    • Thanks, Yvonne. Both are color but the first is almost monochrome…just a hint of blue and green. Sometimes we just get lucky and these scenes jump up in front of the camera. 🙂

      Like

  8. Dina says:

    Gorgeous captures!

    Like

Leave a Reply

