05.01.2014 Take your pick of pics

I don’t usually make images at high noon on a sunny day but once in a while conditions appeal to me and I give it a shot so to speak.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

So Sunday, while on my way home from shooting the Hopping Water image, I stopped along the way and shot this view which I believe has been here before under other circumstances…..just the opposite-foggy.

The clouds are the thing here.Holyoke-Range-from-Moody-Bridge-042714-1100WebBut I do like the cluster of trees near the right side and the mixed lighting on the field.

When I made this exposure I was thinking Black and White so, although I like the color version, I converted it to monochrome and find it to be much more dramatic which was my intention with those great clouds.Holyoke-Range-from-Moody-Bridge-042714-2-1100WebTruth be told, I wanted to place the cluster of trees a little closer to the center but the lay of the land didn’t allow that without my going into someone’s yard.ย  But I am fairly happy with this composition.

So…color or black and white? ๐Ÿ™‚

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 05.01.2014 Take your pick of pics

  1. Just Rod says:

    Both. But if I could only have one I’d have to choose the colour. The tones of the greens complements the blur do well and for me makes the clouds stand out. Almost 3D

    Like

  2. These are both spectacular. But definitely color.

    Like

  3. I’ve looked at both but can’t make up my mind. They’re both good.

    Like

    • That’s how I feel too, Steve. A few people have preferred the B&W elsewhere but here the verdict appears slanted just a tad towards the color.

      Like

      • Color is the way I generally lean, and that’s what I initially felt here, but you say that in this case you conceived the image in black and white from the outset, so I’m disposed to grant more leewayโ€”not that you need my or anyone else’s approval.

        Like

      • I still appreciate the viewpoints though, Steve. I am planning an exhibit and want to have a few sell. So while, as the artist, I know what I was thinking and like, the opinions of everybody here and elsewhere helps me decide what might be better received by my audience. I recently entered three images in a contest and selected a pair that I thought were challenging and unique for the judges. They crashed and burned. ๐Ÿ™‚ The one that placed was a fine image and well received but in my mind not as challenging to appreciate. So knowing what others prefer will help when I have a question. I am not sure that is how we should decide which of our pieces should be presented, but since I have done very little exhibiting it helps.

        Like

  4. Andrew says:

    Colour!!! The clouds are dramatic in both but that strip of sunlight makes the difference – lost in B&W, the clincher in colour.

    Like

    • I did several frames with varying amounts of light in the field, but the diagonal of this one was the strongest and it does play with the dried grass and corn stubble quite well. Thanks, Andrew.

      Like

  5. benrowef64 says:

    For me it is a close call, but the colour wins it, in the black and white the sky is amazing but the foreground is flat compared to the colour where it is so.

    Like

  6. Lottie Nevin says:

    It’s got to be the colour for me. Really like the B&W but I agree with Andrew. The clouds are very dramatic though I hope that they didn’t shower you with rain later. I want Spring to arrive in Steve-Land.

    Like

    • Thank you, Lottie. No rain. We did have some but these clouds are the weather changing for the better albeit only briefly. Lots of rain this week but some sunny days are coming into Steve-Land and that does mean that the spring greens should start to pop!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€
      I might have to make two prints as I mentioned to Ben. I think the color might work well in my July exhibit that stresses local images, but one in B&W for the house as Mary Beth likes that better. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  7. Phil Lanoue says:

    Composition is excellent and I do like the B&W treatment as well.

    Like

  8. Sandra says:

    I’m with Andrew – the stretch of light in the colour photo works pretty well and makes the difference. So unusual for me, but thumbs up for the colour version this time ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  9. It’s 50-50 for me or I suppose a toss up. Great looking photo though. The clouds are beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

