04.04.2014 A nameless brook in the Quabbin watershed

Well, my last post was a flop and has now entered the bits and bytes stream of recycled data.  I haven’t done away with the image, just the evidence. 🙂  Maybe it will reappear some day.

This morning I went scouting for a sunrise composition for tomorrow or Sunday and while walking the edge of the Quabbin found this little stream which shows up on maps but I find no name for it even on the Quabbin map itself.  But the light was nice and the flow great so even without a name it has a few moments of internet fame….I hope.Gate-5-Brook-040414-800WebMaybe tomorrow I’ll have a shot from the other direction with some dawn color.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Quabbin, Water, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 04.04.2014 A nameless brook in the Quabbin watershed

  1. Lyle Krahn says:

    I like how you’ve captured the water running in so many directions around obstacles.

    Like

    • Thanks, Lyle. There was a bit more action to the right, but it was on the other side of the underside of a fallen tree’s root system and not very photogenic, although I often find everything held by the roots to be pretty interesting and it is an educational view.

      Like

    • I’ll second that. The multiple directions of the flowing water make the photograph dynamic.

      Like

      • That is part of what got me interested in this cascade, Steve. The entire area is kind of busy and a bit messy, but composing for the limited view here made for a pleasing work. Thanks.

        Like

  2. Andrew says:

    This is sublime Steve. If the last was a flop this surely has success writ large on it.

    Like

  3. drawandshoot says:

    A wonderful image, Steve!

    Like

  4. Beautiful picture Steve, I love how you’ve captured the flow of water.

    Like

  5. Phil Lanoue says:

    I find this scene not only excellently captured but very interesting to view. Nicely done!

    Like

  6. Lottie Nevin says:

    I absolutely agree with Andrew, it is sublime. A wonderful photograph, Steve. Very well done!

    Like

  7. quabbinite says:

    Where was this one? One of the most intriguing aspects of the reservoir to me is how many “undiscovered” or otherwise unnamed treasures like this one that there still are!

    Like

    • There were other human footprints there so discovered by at least one other person, q.
      The brook drains into the narrow cove slightly north of Old Enfield Road, Gate 5.

      Like

      • quabbinite says:

        I thought that was the one you were showing! I went there once through Gate 5 and observed the spill. The next weekend I went to it via Gate 6. It wasn’t very impressive when I was there so I’m glad to see you got some more flattering pictures of it. I contacted Bill at DCR to ask him about it and he said they just refer to it as “Gate Brook,” though he wasn’t sure why they called it that. I wrote about it on here, if you wanted to see those less flattering photos. I think you could just do a search on my page for Gate 5 or Gate 6.

        Like

  8. Excellent photo here. I love how the trees frame the stream. It appears to be a fast running one that can’t wait to join a river or a lake.

    Like

  9. penpusherpen says:

    Now that is a capture of a beautiful flow of nature, Steve, I could just imagine it being a magic portal to somewhere mystical… I’ll close my eyes and be transported, (I shall, of course, send thee a postcard 🙂 ). xPenx

    Like

    • I’ll be checking my mail daily, Pen. 🙂
      It very well could be a portal and well hidden it is too. From a distance it is not at all the delight that one receives upon closer inspection. It was not the view but the sound that gave it away.

      Like

  10. Michael Shaw says:

    Steve, I am new to your blog but not new to Massachusetts, even though I now reside in Florida. Just wanted to say that I am really enjoying your photography. You have a great eye and a sense of place that I truly respect. I will be a follower from now on!

    Like

    • Thank you, Michael. I am very happy that my images are enjoyable and you will be following the blog. Although I see that you have added me on G+, I rarely frequent there as I have a shortage of free time and spend far too much on Facebook so don’t hit the others, but thanks just the same.

      Like

Leave a Reply

