04.01.2014 Porter’s Keystone Bridge

I think I posted a shot of this bridge a few years ago.  It’s sort of an icon around here for Quabbin photographers.  So here’s one more.  It’s pretty impressive, hand built by one man, Adolphus Porter, back in the days when handwork was honored and, seeing its longevity, with good reason.  Porter was obviously a craftsman.  Of course, it only sees the occasional state maintenance vehicle now so little traffic beside humans, but still quite a feat.Porter's-Bridge-800Web-2I hope you have been enjoying the black and white offerings.  It is something I am thinking in more and more.  However….with Spring almost here, besides the calendar saying so, I am quite eager to start sharing some floral colors.  Shan’t be long. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Landscape, Quabbin, Water, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 04.01.2014 Porter’s Keystone Bridge

  1. quabbinite says:

    Nice effect on the water. I have a B&W of this one myself, and I never grow tired of seeing it from every angle and every Photographer’s perspective. Such an amazing site with rich history, and literally a stone’s-throw away from where you park. I have to ask though (as there are several stories), was it Adolphus himself who built it, or did he have 2 others help him? And do you know how long it took to build? I’ve heard it took 1 man 3 weeks, 3 men one week, and a few others.

    Like

  2. Beautiful in every aspect. What about the top of the bridge? I know there are trees iin the way in this shot but can you walk across the bridge and shoot from another angle or this opening “the bridge?” I love stone work. There is a tremendous art in stacking the stones just right so that the wall remains intact and won’t crumble away.

    Like

  3. penpusherpen says:

    It’s a stunning photo, Steve, all the more so for the black and white effect. The history attached adds even more, so it’s a double whammy to the senses. Looks like Billy Goat Gruff could be hiding under there and no-one the wiser. 🙂 xPenx

    Like

    • Thanks, Pen. I had never heard, or read, the story of the Billys before. Cute story…nasty troll got his comeuppance although even a troll needs to eat, I guess. I’ve seen nary a troll in all my visits there…short of my reflection. 🙂

      Like

      • penpusherpen says:

        thank goodness for that Steve, trolls can be the very devil sometimes as you read eh? (I know there’s more than likely a society for the protection of Trolls, but what the heck…PC ism gone mad methinks. 😉 *Cough* ) xx

        Like

  4. Lottie Nevin says:

    Pen is right, it is very Billy Goat Gruff, or if you are an AA Milne fan, very Pooh Sticks. I’m immensely fond of old bridges and I particularly love this photograph because of the way that you’ve captured the water coming down. Stillness, solidity and movement all in the same shot. Terrific! 😀

    Like

    • Thank you, Lottie. I guess I am getting a failing grade here on folk tales and children’s stories. I never read any Milne either. This is indeed a fine old bridge that has stood the test of New World time. Although not nearly as old as some of the European structures…bridges and old cobblestone buildings found around Europe. It is a popular destination for people and, as mentioned above, takes a very short walk to arrive. That water you see is destined to be drunk or flushed by the good folks in Boston. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

