03.30.2014 Single Birch in the North Quabbin

Rainy, moody and colorless day today.  Monochrome fits.A-single-white-birch-surrounded-by-evergreens-800Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Quabbin and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 03.30.2014 Single Birch in the North Quabbin

  1. This is impressive. It would make a great print. The lone tree against the evergreens is an eye pleaser. Love this one Steve.

    Like

  2. Lyle Krahn says:

    I like the symbolism of one standing out from the crowd.

    Like

  3. penpusherpen says:

    Such a dramatic photo., there’s a tale to be told there Steve, a lone silver birch. and the surrounging trees? Seem to be gathered, supportingly, Imagination? more than likely. 😉 xPenx

    Like

    • Thank you, Pen. The drama is intended. Although I shot this a little while back, I decided to post it after learning of my father’s death Sunday afternoon.. It was not at all a shock…he has been suffering from dementia and some other issues and was just this side of vegetative. But when something like this happens, one often feels a bit isolated in your own thoughts and responses. This seemed an appropriate expression although that was certainly not my intent upon capture.

      Like

      • penpusherpen says:

        MY condolences Steve, I am so , so sorry. Even when the end is expected it’s till a shock to the senses, we never face the unfaceable ’til we’re forced too… A lovely tribute I feel, the lone Birch… thank you for sharing your thoughts… and hugs..(I know hugs is a much used expression on the internet blogging circle.. but I do mean them ) xPenx

        Like

      • Thanks, Pen. I’ve always believed in your hugs. 🙂

        Like

  4. Phil Lanoue says:

    I like the mood and feeling in this one Steve.

    Like

  5. drawandshoot says:

    Very nice, Steve!

    Like

  6. Birch trees and Finland. My favourite combination.

    Like

  7. Lottie Nevin says:

    Wonderful contrasts, a beautiful composition.

    Like

  8. I like the way the white tree stands out against the darkness of the forest around it, but I’m distracted by the upper right corner of the picture, which is so light that it bleeds outside the frame. Have you thought of putting a frame around the picture and darkening that light area, or else cropping off a horizontal band at the top to eliminate the light area altogether?

    Like

    • I’ve posted this elsewhere and have had similar comments along with the supporting opposite opinions noting tension and balance with the lower left, Steve. I tried many crops and did not care for any of them.and it is darkened already from the original. I am not prone to using the clone tool so decided I can live with the image despite the upper right. If I had a quad copter I could have found a better angle to eliminate the sky….or wait another 5 years for the trees to grow into the sky. OTOH, it is an obvious typical composition to not have the sky so it allows me to be different…my story and I am sticking with it.

      Like

  9. Pingback: 10.18.2014 Regulating Dam Road | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

  10. This looks like an etching~ very lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

