02.02.2014 All Quiet on the Eastern Front

I hope that is not bordering on plagiarism.  The quiet, in this case, is cloud banks.  Two days in a row I looked upwards and saw stars.  Often that is just the arthritis in my neck, but yesterday and today it was a partly cloudy sky.  So I set out from home in the dark with visions of colorful sunrises dancing in my head.  Nope…just a thick line of clouds cluttering up the horizon.  It is funny sometimes how clouds can be wonderfully spaced above yet, come dawn, they have all joined to create something thick and impenetrable.  Obviously, those spaces probably still exist, but the angle of view has compressed them into a solid mass.  Well, enough of that already.

This morning allowed me a few moments with some color in the sky above the clouds and I managed this non-prize winner from a view at Pelham Lookout over Quabbin.  I do enjoy the angles and division of color, light and shadow.Foggy-Quabbin-at-Dawn-900WebAfterwards, I decided to go into the park and see if I might get some images of beech trees in the fog.  Per my usual bad timing, they decided to drop their leaves, thinking it was Spring already with all these warm days, so that did not work out.  On the way out I stopped by a beaver pond next to the two lane highway that runs past Quabbin and made this image.  I’ve always liked these trees….there had been one other rather spectacular skeleton of a tree that fell into the water a few years back…so I lined them up along with some of the grass hummocks and here is the result.Route-9-Pond-Trees-020214-800WebIt was a foggy day in Quabbin town.  Actually, Quabbin is made up of four submerged towns, but that is another story and one already told a few times here.

Ciao, babies…it is almost Super Bowl time. 😎

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to 02.02.2014 All Quiet on the Eastern Front

  1. Beautiful foggy and snowy image of the pond with the deceased trees. 🙂 It seems quiet and peaceful and a tad mysterious. I like this photo very much. I’ve often wondered how you choose the ones for an exhibit and or your portfolio. Do you ever consider what your commenters have written about am image? I’m 99% sure that you use your own judgement but then again…

    Like

    • Thanks, Yvonne. Ah, that 1% wiggle room is there for a reason. Actually, I do take the opinions of others into account in some situations. Although I am pretty sure which images are the stronger, what appeals to the viewer is important also.

      Like

  2. I wouldn’t worry about plagiarism. The original German title is Im Westen nichts Neues, literally In the West Nothing New.

    Like

    • One needs to be careful these days, Steve. The quest for an easy buck often trumps common sense.

      Like

      • As I understand things, titles can’t be copyrighted, so if you want to compose a song and call it “Yesterday” or write a novel and call it “Gone with the Wind,” no one will come after you legally. I don’t think you’d make much money that way, but you can try.

        Like

  3. Nice contrast between the two, Stephen. Melancholy tone in both, reflecting the mood of February and the lingering winter.

    Like

    • Yes, the days of late winter are a bit melancholy, aren’t they? I hope your days start to brighten and warm a bit as I would expect in the south. Let’s hope these unusual weather patterns are not a regular thing in future winters.
      Finding a little beauty in the sombre months can be a challenge.

      Like

  4. Andrew says:

    The top shot is nice but the skeleton trees are very special. Unlike the souper bowl which seems to have less than super for Denver. I think your trees will print well.

    Like

    • Thanks, Andrew. I wish I could have posted some images for the Superb Owl postings on FB. 🙂 That was a most disappointing game.
      I’ve been looking at those trees for years. The snow giving up its foggy moisture seemed to work well.

      Like

  5. Lottie Nevin says:

    The second image is very strong. It actually makes my bones ache with the chill looking at it. I know what you mean about looking up and seeing the stars only to wake up to thick cloud cover the following morning. This is what happened with us today. We’ve not had your ‘solar plexus’ or whatever it is that is happening right now in the States but it has been miserably wet and foggy for days – imagine then my delight when the clouds cleared yesterday evening and we had the first sunset in days. Crystal clear skies last night and then bingo! back to dampsville this morning. Roll on Primavera as they say in these parts!

    Like

    • Solar Plexus 😀 You mean the Polar Vortex, Lottie.
      That does sound like disappointing weather you’ve been having. Ours has been similar with occasional winter weather breaking the dismal streak occasionally. We may have a decent storm tomorrow into Wednesday though.
      I hope you get more pleasant weather soon….I don’t think you went Mediterranean to have such as you’ve been getting.

      Like

      • Lottie Nevin says:

        Solar Plexus was tongue in cheek, Steve! sorry, it’s my childish humour. Yes, the weather here is much colder than I thought it would be, but, it will be easier next winter when we are better equipped to deal with the cold – it doesn’t help having windows with holes in them or doors with huge cracks. Nor does it help not having an efficient wood burning system – hopefully these creases will be ironed out with a bit of money and more time. The spring summer and autumn will be our payback for the unexpected chills. I found out recently that we are as high as Ben Nevis here (i need to actually check how high BN is!) but no surprise then that we get sharper weather than down on the coast where Spring has already begun.

        Like

      • Well, I may not have realized it was tongue in cheek, Lottie, but as a possessor of childish humor I think I am typical in not getting it when I often dish it out. 🙂 We often don’t recognize our own style, I think.
        If it is Spring near the coast, then with some little time it should make the climb to your vicinity soon, I hope. All those little holes and other fix me ups will be much easier to handle once the warmer weather arrives. Until then, I recommend repeated visits to Paco and Antonia’s. 🙂

        Like

      • Lottie Nevin says:

        I fear that repeated visits to P & A’s will result in our ruin! but thanks, Steve. There was a hint of spring yesterday, the almond trees in the village have started to blossom – a sight for sore eyes 😀

        Like

  6. penpusherpen says:

    Loving both photo’s Steve, as each hold their own, the first full of promise, another day dawns, and the other looks so ice chillingly ghostly, as if “something wicked this way comes,” ( talk about plagiarism eh? Mayhap Shakespeare has become used over the years. Casting a sigh as another misquote flits by!! 😉 ) xPenx

    Like

  7. Your image is far far better than the Game! I also took a particular liking to the second image. That is a tough shot to pull off. Your use of fore ground elements makes it work.

    James

    Like

    • Thanks, James. I’ll take that as a compliment although almost anything would have been more entertaining than that game. I spent quite a bit of time wandering back and forth among the dried cattail leaves along the edge of the pond lining up the hummocks and trees for this. For a moment I thought it had started to snow large flakes, but it turned out to be cattail seeds floating on the air.

      Like

  8. Mjollnir says:

    Great shots Stephen 😀

    Like

  9. Stunning cloud shots Steve; wonderfully layered.

    Like

  10. tomwhelan says:

    Such beautiful colors in the first image – the second is chillingly bleak. Makes me want to put on another sweater…

    Like

  11. Sandra says:

    So here I am – always the last to view and comment 😉
    The B&W photo is a striking one, love the composition and the muted tones that suit the atmosphere very well.
    I think you will have many more good moments with those trees and the hummucks!

    Like

    • It is an often visited spot, Sandra. It is easier to shoot this in the winter when I can walk on the frozen pond. Not so good in the warm weather as the road which is very busy leaves little room to safely stand.

      Like

Leave a Reply

