01.27.2014 Northern Light

It’s hard to believe that January is just about over.  Seems it was only just the beginning of a new year and here we are getting ready for the start of a new month.  I have begun putting together a print portfolio to show to gallery owners and that has used a bit of my free time.  The weather hasn’t always been the best for the images I have visualized so I haven’t been out as much as I would like…and when I did get out things didn’t seem to go in my favor.  But that’s nature…you take what is presented to you.

Thus today’s image.  Saturday morning I headed up to my favorite sunrise spot in New Salem.  The sky was looking promising but upon arrival, the clouds were all mushy and the sun was behind a hill covered with trees.  Not what I had in mind.  For plan B I hoped for some brilliant color to the north over Mount Monadnock which has been a subject of mine often.  If subtlety is brilliant, then I got what I was looking for. 🙂Mount-Monadnock-from-New-Salem-1024WebThe deciduous trees are barren of all leaves and the conifers are rather dull and dark.  But I really like the quiet feel to this and the pleasing, inspiring soft color and light over Monadnock.  I think this goes into the portfolio.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Mountains, Nature Photography, Sunrise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 01.27.2014 Northern Light

  1. Yes, it is restful and peaceful. A gorgeous scene. The contrast of the light in the sky with the mix of the conifers is beautiful and inspiring. I could look at this scene all day.

    Like

    • Thank you, Yvonne. It was a very peaceful few moments. This is very close to a highway…just a two-laner but still noisy…so that sense only lasted for a short while. But that’s the beauty of photography. It can make a scene like this last forever.

      Like

  2. David Patterson says:

    REALLY nice color palette in this one. Love the depth those trees provide in the foreground, and the pastels in the sky are beautiful.

    Like

    • This is a favorite spot that I photograph often, David. The sky to the north very often offers soft color from the sunrise. In the autumn it offers some spectacular color…if autumn has much color at all which has been a bit disappointing the last few years.

      Like

  3. Just Rod says:

    Definitely one for the portfolio. It has the look of a work of art in pastels. I always loved using pastels and their chalky quality. You have captured a lovely winter scene Steve. I think many people are quite happy to see the back of this January.

    Like

    • Thanks, Rod. Yep, I am thinking about giving winter’s back end a little bit of encouragement to head out the back door. We’ll see what February has in store for us. At this point Spring will be most welcomed, but I think the month to come may have other plans.
      I hope you and Susan are having a fine time in sunny Mexico in between your labors. 🙂

      Like

  4. Your proposal that subtlety may be brilliant raised the symmetric notion that brilliance may be subtle.

    Like

  5. Lottie Nevin says:

    I think it should most definitely go into that portfolio. It’s a beautiful shot, Steve, and your perseverance certainly paid off. It reminds me just a little of some of the scenery around here – if you swap the deciduous trees for olive trees, maybe squint a little, head on one side….you get the picture 😀

    Like

  6. Phil Lanoue says:

    That’s a real stunner Steve, good job with that!

    Like

  7. penpusherpen says:

    Mushy clouds eh Steve?, for me the blushlike lustre of the sky draws the eye, then the landscape opens and the ‘whole’ is viewed.
    Subtle in this case is so, so good. xPenx

    Like

    • Mushy clouds….much superior to mushroom clouds. 🙂 Thanks for the comment and noticing the blushlike quality, Pen. In these parts it is rare to have a spectacular sky for sunrise or set but subtle happens often and is really much preferable in my estimation. Spectacular is done to death says he who would appreciate just a little on occasion.

      Like

  8. Sandra says:

    Northern light, he he he 😉
    Lovely colour in the sky, winter is pink!

    Like

  9. Pingback: 08.22.2015 Another moody view | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

