12.04.2013 Let’s have some 10° fun.

So amidst all the 40° days and 30° nights recently, we had one cold day this past Saturday.  I decided to visit Dean Brook and see how the ice was shaping up thinking of frozen cascades.  Surprisingly, even at 10° the water was moving too quickly after our recent rains and very little ice was forming.  But further down the brook there were pools where the water was able to sit and ice was forming.  Forming before my eyes.  It was really cool to look through the lens and see the water starting to freeze.

In this first image, the water is spreading over some already formed ice.  You can see how the water is engulfing the ice but the surface tension, I believe that is the term for this, is creating an edge rather than the water just spreading evenly.  So there are depressions within the water for short periods before it all is submerged.  You can also see the crinkling of the forming ice on the surface.Forming-Ice-Texture-1-113013-900WebOf course if I don’t explain things, maybe it can pass as a B&W abstract. 🙂

And abstract was just my idea in this second image.    Kind of an icy Ying/Yang with the reversal of shading between the two crinkling sides.Forming-Ice-Texture-2-113013-900WebI suppose it would have been even more fun had I done a video, but to be honest, that is a capability of my camera that doesn’t interest me.  Maybe someday.

It sounds like we might get a little snow or mixed precipitation tomorrow but I am not expecting much ice this weekend.  Maybe there will be some attractive mud.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Black and White, Closeup Photography, Ice, macro photography, Nature Photography, Water and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 12.04.2013 Let’s have some 10° fun.

  1. Just Rod says:

    You are very creative to produce such interesting images from a not very encouraging day. Your weather is barmy – we would be wearing our shorts and tea shirts at that temperature 🙂

    Like

  2. Your second photograph looks like someone dropped a bunch or straight pins.

    I’m always ready to say “Let’s hear it for abstraction,” and this is one opportunity for that that you have in a northern climate that we don’t down here. On those rare occasions when we do get snow or ice, I brave the weather for the sake of pictures.

    I’m guessing that your play on words in “It was really cool to look through the lens and see the water starting to freeze” was unintentional, but you can still take credit for it.

    Like

  3. drawandshoot says:

    These are great! I like blue abstract especially.

    Like

  4. tomwhelan says:

    Another vote for abstraction. Both look great, I really like the sharp contrast in the B&W one. Today was another frost, but just fine small crystals not the big ones I saw Saturday.

    Like

    • Thanks, Tom. We also had some nice frost, but with the sun coming up so late these days there is no before work time for photography. Two days until the weekend though. That crystalline snowflake image you posted is super.

      Like

  5. Great photos as per usual. The formong ice is so unique. And, I am so glad that is “your ice” and not mine here. But we have freezing rain predicted coming maybe Friday, Saturday and, Sunday. Gee I will miss seeing my blooming flowers. I saw 2 Queens and a few Sulfurs today. But they sure do need to get a move on for further south.

    Like

    • Thanks, Yvonne. I do hope your butterflies sense the oncoming bad weather and hightail it out of town in time. Every once in a while, when the temps get around 40° at night, I see a few moths flitting around still, but no more bfs or flowers until April now.

      Like

  6. Lyle Krahn says:

    I see three different sets of patterns or textures in that second photo all perfectly composed. Great work.

    Like

  7. Icy Yin-Yang is right! This is excellent!

    Like

  8. Andrew says:

    I have been waiting to photograph ice here since 1997. It seems unlikely it is going to happen so I will just have to enjoy your images instead, Steve.

    Like

    • Thanks, Andrew. I am not sure I feel all that privileged to experience sub-zero temperatures and howling winter winds but I also would not want to experience your heat, humidity and pollution. The one good thing about winter, besides ice, is how wonderful spring seems afterward.

      Like

  9. Sandra says:

    Two fanstastic abstract shots, Steve. I also like the blue(s) 😉

    Like

  10. Great ice images! They encourage me to take my camera out to play with the ice too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

