11.24.2013 The Touch

Well, I am sort of embarrassed to be giving such a romantic title to this image.  But it seems appropriate so I’ll stick with it…unless someone comes up with a better one.  I am open always to suggestions.  Maybe “The Creation of Adam” would be a good alternative. LOL

I was going through some old folders and found this which I had never shared here or on FB.  It is one of those things…you just forget they are there after enough time goes by.  Anyway, here is an image I noticed while doing a lap around the Quabbin Tower parking lot several years ago.  It probably does not matter where it was but it seemed like a fun fact about where one might find an image.Foggy-Summit-Foliage-1-900WebI hope everyone has had a nice weekend.  It is turning to winter here. 18°F here this morning with 15-20mph winds and then some strong gusts.  Already looking forward to Spring. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Central Massachusetts, Fall Foliage, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to 11.24.2013 The Touch

  1. This is beautiful and I love the title too. Getting cold here…had snow yesterday Brrr!

    Like

  2. Great title and a lovely photo. I ike this one a lot. But then I like all your photos. Winter finally arrived Thursday night around 9:30pm with strong winds and misting rain. It has steadily grown colder and today feels very cold. Heard that it might sleet or maybe some freezing rain. Sure hated to see my butterfly garden bite the dust. I was photographing butters on Wednesday- had about 10-12 Queens, I sure hope the Queens made it south in time. Yesterday I saw 3 huge gaggles of snow geese of around 300 plus in each gaggle. They are headed for the rice fields in south Texas.

    Like

    • I guess it is all relative, Yvonne. I never think of Texas and freezing rain at the same time but you do get some winter there too. We may get a storm Tuesday into Wednesday which will ruin travel for a lot of people. We just have a modest meal at home.

      Like

  3. drawandshoot says:

    I love the title. : )
    The colours are gorgeous too.
    Yup, its wintery all right…

    Like

  4. Andrew says:

    Superb photo Steve and why not a romantic title? Very touching indeed.

    Like

  5. What a beautiful photograph! 🙂

    Like

  6. Just Rod says:

    Another beauty – please stop for a while – we are trying to come to a decision here! 🙂 (Don’t stop, your images are wonderful). I like the way the one tree is blushing from ‘the touch’. Have a lovely Thanksgiving and welcome to winter. Today the ground is white and the sky is a very light grey – almost white – hard to discern the horizon. Waiting for the sun to come back – it is usually very sunny here – but that also means its very cold with the clear bright blue sky. People are happier when its cold and sunny than mild and grey.

    Like

  7. Thank you, Rod. Blushing. 🙂
    Just doing my job…and if I am doing it well then I guess that makes choosing more difficult. 🙂
    Is Thanksgiving celebrated in Canada? I should know that. There won’t be frost on the Thanksgiving harvest as we are going to warm up…relatively…and see rain tomorrow. But Thursday should be pleasant.

    Like

  8. I, too, see the creation of Adam here.

    Like

  9. Phil Lanoue says:

    Absolutely outstanding scene!

    Like

  10. Sandra says:

    Definitely one of your best autumn shots!!! Very glad that you remembered this photo and posted it. It is lovely with the fog and the different autumn colours.
    Fantastic moody photo with an appropriate title 😉

    Like

  11. Office Diva says:

    Green Heron Steve: Absolutely wonderful photo and caption, you mushy-hearted wonder, you! I have no improvements to offer on the caption, but in future if you want to dial down the mush factor, you could always go with something like “Get your leafy mitts offa me; I’m not that kinda tree.” (See, I told you I didn’t have any improvements).

    The mist, the glorious contrasting colors, and the tree bark texture all add up to a stunning photo. It’s very mysterious; alas, that my parking lot photos would ever look half as grand.

    My eyes have missed your photography candy. Computer hiatus can be restful on the orbs and also a complete drag; I have lots to catch up on. Nom-nom-nom……

    Happy weekend to you!

    Like

  12. Greg Russell says:

    Superb image, Steve…this is fantastic. A wonderfully unique fall image, and great juxtaposed colors…

    Like

  13. Pingback: Some Day My Prints Will Come: The Winnipeg Shard | Reflections in Puddles

Leave a Reply

