11.19.2013 Balancing Act and a Turtle Turf War

Beth Walsh recently posted a nice shot of a turtle with its feet outstretched which reminded me of these images so I thought I would share them-from Poor Farm Swamp.Turtle-Balancing-on-Stick-800FBThis Eastern Painted Turtle was just chillin’ with its damsel pal in the warmth of a summer sun.  I don’t know how it was maintaining balance.

A few years on, also at the swamp, I saw this scene.  Note the rear legs.Painted-Turtle-standoff-800FBI am not quite sure exactly what was going on unless it was a dispute over swamp turf.  Either that or Junior was being sent back to his room.  The Painted Turtle eats a varied diet, but most of it sits on the swamp bottom so the rapid retreat could be the result of a blast of Chrysemys picta halitosis.  At any rate, I thought it was a pretty interesting moment.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Animal Behavior, Fauna, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 11.19.2013 Balancing Act and a Turtle Turf War

  1. Beautiful shots of the Painted Turtle. I think they are so interesting in a natural habitat.

    Like

  2. Andrew says:

    The Olga Korbut of the turtle world. Incredible.

    Like

    • Where humans need to train and follow strict discipline to pull off these stunts, animals do it naturally and without thought…just instinct. Top of the food chain true enough, but in most other things we are mere pretenders. 🙂

      Like

  3. drawandshoot says:

    Very cool! So the turtle is not stretching and yawning? That’s what came to my mind, but a turf war does sound more exciting.

    Like

  4. Just Rod says:

    Now I thought one was laughing at the other – ha ha ha! I love the painted turtles. We get them here but see more of the larger Snapping Turtles. Great photos. Maybe the one on the left is saying – “look Ma, no feet!”

    Like

    • We get plenty of the snappers too, Rod. They are not a lot of fun. I know they have to eat, but I am not always happy with their choices. A few years back I saw a Great Blue Heron struggling in a pond and, as it turned out, a snapper had a grip on one of the bird’s legs. I like the painters better too.

      Like

  5. That’s one of the nicest turtle portraits I’ve seen. The eye of a naturalist.

    Like

  6. Lyle Krahn says:

    Those are both great moments. Wonderful.

    Like

  7. This is a delightful photograph! I always enjoy watching a row of turtles sunbathing on a branch in a pond where I walk. So sweet! 🙂

    Like

  8. Phil Lanoue says:

    Gotta love the turtles! Excellent shots!

    Like

  9. You can call it the decisive moment (I don’t think Cartier-Bresson will mind).

    Like

  10. Thanks for the link. I love that second photo. Looks like a big yawn to me. 🙂

    Like

  11. Lottie Nevin says:

    These are darlings though I’ve heard they’ve got a nasty bite, is it true? The colours are great, beautiful close-up image Steve.

    Like

    • Thanks, Lottie. The snapping turtle is more known for biting than the painted. They’ve been known to chomp a good sized stick in half so I imagine a finger would be no match. The painted are more timid where the snapper is quite bold. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

