11.07.2013 Monson Turnpike Road

AKA Gate 37 in the North Quabbin, Monson Turnpike Road disappears into the reservoir and reappears to the South…or maybe it is the other way around.  It is a nice short hike to the water and on this trip (October 11th) I saw tracks in the mud of both moose and bear.  Deer too.  The day was a bit dreary although there was a nice fog floating around over the water.Quabbin-vignette-Gate-37-101113-900WebOh yeah, this is about the road in.  Well, I’m not much of a travelogue writer, but I can say that it is a peaceful old road with some open settled spots sporting large trees lining the way.  Eventually the houses thin and as you reach the gate there are just trees. Once inside the gate and on foot, the hike is pleasant along an old dirt road that sees only state vehicles that maintain the land.  For anyone who is not familiar, the Quabbin watershed was harnessed about 75 years ago to create a water source for Boston and a few other communities….the Quabbin Reservoir.  It has been called the accidental wilderness but it is not really wild despite the growing population of moose and presence of other animals.  The forest is managed for both control of the water source and for tree harvesting as a secondary effect.  To create the reservoir, four towns were flooded and people were forced to give up their homes for a pittance.  Anyway, there is a wealth of information available and much if not all are a better read than what I can put together here.  But you get the idea.

So here is an image of a nice walk in the woods. 🙂Monson-Turnpike-2-101113-900Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 11.07.2013 Monson Turnpike Road

  1. Very inviting walk. Well told tale. We can find the wilds everywhere, even the accidental kind. !

    Like

  2. Andrew says:

    Fascinating Steve. You get bears where you are? I didn’t realize. The photos are very fine and your familiarity with and fondness for the area are evident.

    Like

    • Yes we do, Andrew. In our yard even. The year before last we came home to find our feeder pole parallel with the ground and the two tube feeders missing. One we found in some of our shrubs and the other was returned to us by a neighbor from down the street. 😮 We now only feed the birds while the bears are hibernating through the cold seasons. There is plenty of naturally occurring food around to keep them going until winter.

      Like

  3. Just Rod says:

    I like the way both the water and the path disappear around a bend, leaving me to wonder “what’s round the corner?” It draws me into both photographs. I always enjoy the misty look and once again the texture of the leaves and grass is very fine.

    Like

  4. Phil Lanoue says:

    My WP Reader has totally changed (and messed up) how I look at and comment on other’s blogs and it is now not just difficult but close to impossible. Not sure what the problem is but if you don’t see me around for a while (or ever again) that’s the reason. Sorry.

    Like

  5. Sorry to be late commenting. Lots going on yeserday as well as today. Interesting reading about how homes were destroyed so that Boston could have water. That is the name of the game to make way for “progress and human consumption.” Bears in the yard. Now that would scare me too much. It must be nice when they are hibernating- no worries then. The photos are great. Very pretty with the gorgeous colors of the trees.

    Like

    • In these times I don’t think all those homes would have been taken. Sales may have ended coerced but prices would have been higher and lawyers would have made a bundle.
      You are appreciated no matter when you get here, Yvonne. 🙂 You have quite a load on your hands there.

      Like

  6. Lyle Krahn says:

    That fog sure gives it a surreal look.

    Like

  7. Phil Lanoue says:

    Excellent scenes Steve!

    Like

    • Thank you, Phil. I hope you were able to see and comment without the WP difficulties.

      Like

      • Phil Lanoue says:

        Oddly, I have found that if while viewing posts in my reader, I click on the clock icon in the lower left corner where it indicates how long ago the topic was posted (3 hours ago for instance) the post opens as it normally used to. If I click on the post title or a photo, it’s still messed up. Mine seems to be worse then others for some reason.

        Like

      • Interesting. I have not tried responding through the reader before. So I did not even realize the clock was there. When I click the clock I see the whole post and if I click the title I have to scroll through the post while a comment box sits on top of the scrolling images.

        Like

Leave a Reply

