11.06.2013 Dean Brook Cascade…..again.

I had not visited Dean Brook much this summer, so paid it an autumn visit although post foliage.  But I went for the water and it did not disappoint despite our lack of rainfall.  I’ve posted this view before, but I hope you find it worthy of repeating. While the rocks are in the same position and the cascade is pretty similar to previous images, there is always just as subtle difference.  The foreground rock is a new addition…but I did not put it there. 🙂Dean-Brook-Cascade-2-110213-800FBJust to offer a little different part of the brook, here is a scene a bit upstream.Dean-Brook-Tree-110213-800WebI like the way the tree has wrapped around itself.

Have a good day, everyone. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 11.06.2013 Dean Brook Cascade…..again.

  1. Andrew says:

    These two are pretty special, Steve. Very different but complementary. I don’t know which I prefer.

    Like

  2. Sandra says:

    …. so Murphy put it there…? 😉
    No, just kidding…. Both photos appeal very much to me. It looks as if autumn is already fully gone there! Always so quick …

    Like

  3. Dean Brook sounds like the name of a person.

    Like

  4. Just Rod says:

    Steve, you are a magician!

    Like

  5. Lyle Krahn says:

    You got just the right shutter speed in that first photo – wonderful effect and great composition.

    Like

  6. Beautiful scene of the water in slow motion. I like both pictures. B&W makes these standout.

    Like

  7. Hi Steve,
    Great images, but I am drawn to the second in particular, and it is the relationship between the root system and the water that gets me. There is something quite magical about it, other worldly.

    Like

    • Thank you, James. One of the things I enjoy about brooks like these is the same thing that draws me to trees at Acadia…the way we are able to see the relationship between the old tree roots and the earth, more specifically the rocks in the earth that have become revealed over time. Almost like a handshake between the two.

      Like

  8. bluebrightly says:

    And that one leaf probably wasn’t there either! I like the way the water falls off the stem – beautifully shot.

    Like

  9. drawandshoot says:

    Beautiful photographs, Steve. There is something transporting and calming in these long exposures with gliding water.

    Like

    • Thanks, Karen. I do enjoy the effect that is created much more by long exposures in water much more than the stop action, but the texture of the fast exposure is interesting too, so I try for both when the opportunity arises.

      Like

  10. Mark says:

    Looks like such a great spot Steve, with some fine photographs to show it. I wish I had more streams like this close to me. I think I would spend a lot of time there also.

    Like

  11. Phil Lanoue says:

    My WP Reader has totally changed (and messed up) how I look at and comment on other’s blogs and it is now not just difficult but close to impossible. Not sure what the problem is but if you don’t see me around for a while until this hopefully gets fixed, that’s the reason. Sorry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

