11.05.2013 Forest Bouquet

This caught my eye as I was driving through Quabbin Park on Saturday morning.  One of the things I look for is a complicated composition that can be made more simple by selection.  I think I did that here.  This scene is a couple of hundred feet into a wooded area along the roadside so there was a lot of landscape to see on both sides and in the foreground but the colors attracted me along with the birch trunks and I thought it was a nice bouquet the Quabbin was offering up to those who would see it.November-color-Quabbin-110313-800WebThis is slightly uphill and required me to stand on an old stonewall with the tripod extended quite high to get over the top of some foreground growth.  Another example of a tall tripod offering value.  It was also a bit breezy, but as this was a little deep into the woods it was somewhat protected from the breeze.  I wish that little bit of sky on the upper left wasn’t there but what can you do?

Speaking of my tripod, I went to a presentation at Hunt’s on Saturday afternoon.  One of the speakers brought his tripod, a Gitzo like mine, but when fully extended it was probably a good foot taller than mine.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 11.05.2013 Forest Bouquet

  1. Andrew says:

    The colour creates good layers here Steve. I doubt I would have attempted this. Fortune favours the brave.

    Like

  2. You mention “a complicated composition that can be made more simple by selection.” Because this view is of nature, the photograph must therefore be an example of natural selection.

    Like

  3. As for the picture’s upper left, I expect St. Ansel would give you his blessing if you used software to darken those bits of sky .

    Like

  4. Just Rod says:

    Your photos always have such wonderful textural qualities. I don’t mind the sky peeking in. My father was a painter and he had a motto when painting forests and leaves: “always leave some sky for the birds to fly through”.
    The photo shows such interesting signs of the reality of nature – new life, old life, decay, renewal.

    Like

  5. Lottie Nevin says:

    Uh Oh, am I detecting a spot of tripod envy here? You’ve done a grand job, Steve even if yours is a foot shorter. I’m relishing my country walks right now. Andalucia looks gorgeous in the autumn but doesn’t have the rich diversity of colours that you have where you live. I love picking sprigs off the hedgerows, rosehips, wild fennel, dried pods, leaves and berries. The house might currently look like a war zone with rubble and dust EVERYWHERE but at least there’s some nice foliage in jam jars and pots to brighten things up! 😉

    Like

    • Thanks, Lottie! I saw a picture, on FB I think, of the beginnings of your home makeover. That is going to be a lot of work…much more than I would want to take on so I admire your energy and drive to get it done. And having a little bit of nature to cheer you on certainly helps….along with a few bottles of a good red. 🙂

      Like

  6. Absolutely beautiful scene. I am not going to pick this photo to pieces. I don’t know, anyhow. 🙂 A bit redundant there. I only know I like what I see and the color of gold in the middle is gorgeous. The tad of blue sky gives the photo some spark and enhances the color of the the gray trees. This sir is plum pretty. 😉

    Like

    • Thank you very much for the nice comments, Yvonne. I am very happy you like this. I worked hard to find it and then narrow it down to a pleasing view so you have validated all the effort. 🙂

      Like

  7. You are welcome and I should have asked in my comment. What is the name of the tree with the golden leaves? It has a lovely shape and the leaf color is so pretty.

    Like

  8. I like that I know this image is natural. You pick beautiful elements, but let the rest of the real woods be, without oversaturating or too much clean up of the many stray twigs and branches.

    Like

  9. Pingback: 11.10.2014 Quabbin Forest Bouquet take two | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

