10.27.2013 Corn Rows

Nothing happening this weekend.  So here is another from a few weeks back.

Amherst used to be a farming town and the University of Massachusetts was originally called Massachusetts Agricultural College…Mass Aggie for short.  As the college grew into a university, the town grew into a university town.  Most of the farms are gone.  Our neighbor, Hadley, still retains many of its farms although their numbers are diminishing slowly.  A little over a mile from my house is a large corn field in Hadley where I “harvested” today’s image. 🙂  Across the road is a large hayfield that is often graced with ground fog.  Such was the case on this day and I had planned on shooting some of the foliage that was being illuminated in the bright fog.  However, I discovered I had dead batteries and on my way back to my car to retrieve the spares another photographer showed up, asked if I was through, and then began to run like a maniac all over the hayfield.  I had said “No” but apparently the question was out of habit and not to be sure of protocol.  So by the time he was done with his fog hogging mad dash the mist had burned off along with my composure.  Some people think only their needs are important.

His reply was “Oh, you can just Photoshop me out, right?”  Fortunately, I do like this image so the tale is now just a story and not the reason for my incarceration. 😮Cornstalk-rows-101413-1200WebI may have mentioned that I purchased a new tripod that rises to 7 feet tall which helped with the perspective in this image.

I did shoot the hayfield a few weeks back seen here but, as you can tell, the trees are not colorful, not softly illuminated and not captured by me in dramatic lighting.  Grrrrr.

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Patterns in Nature, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 10.27.2013 Corn Rows

  1. Eric Todd says:

    I like this Steve, I can see it printed out HUGE. I haven’t been taking pictures nearly as long as you(only a few years), but I guess I’m fortunate to have never run into another photographer at the same location. I do my best to avoid people:) In fact, if I came upon another photographer, I would respect that they were there first and move along. People never cease to amaze me.

    Like

    • I am similar, Eric. Sometimes, if I have traveled a good distance, I will ask if I can share the space but often I’ll just look for another location. I will be printing this…thanks, Eric.

      Like

  2. It seems that not all jackasses (donkeys) have four legs. And some photographers are “corny” and just plain “corn hogs” It will not hurt my feelings if you choose to delete that first sentence. Here in Cen-Tex there is a fair amount of corn grown. I have some pics of the the corn harvesters and and of a truck used for hauling the corn. The harvester really kicks up a huge cloud of corn dust and wrecks havoc with individuals who are allergic to the dust and mold spores that forms in the corn husk. But back to your photo. I like this one a lot and the other one that you did earlier with the foggy atmosphere is excellent.

    Like

    • Thanks, Yvonne. I can understand why people would get upset with dust and mold spores being stirred up. It is an unfortunate by-product of farming in a dry environment. Around here we sometimes have difficulty between folks who move into a farming community without researching what that is like. Then the honey wagon goes riding through the field next door and trouble starts.

      Like

  3. Lottie Nevin says:

    I agree with Eric, this would look great HUGE! I’m also very impressed that you have a 7ft tripod! 😉

    Like

  4. Office Diva says:

    And here I thought you were going to flash us a pic of Bo Derek with her famous braided hairdo, 1979.
    I once had my hair put into cornrows during an archaeology dig in Belize. Ahem, many Mayan moons ago. It was strange seeing the shape of my head after all those years of curly hair…..anyway, enough about hair.
    Green Heron, what good is a 7′ tripod if you do not use it give a polite whack to RUUUUDE photographers who crash your compositions? Just sayin’……
    You know me, I like the simple stuff, and this is simple enough for me to enjoy in a wholesome, non-GMO manner. If you can’t make hay while the sun shines, might as well enjoy the corn. Makes me want corn on the cob, a little butter, some dental floss for later. Life is good.
    And that’s a very cool pic. The other linked foggy is very impressive as well.
    Enjoy the day…..

    Like

    • Thanks, but I am a peaceful man, Diva. No whacks from me although the temptation is there. I guess the tripod being seven feet gives me an advantage should I duel it out with a shorter tripoded photographer. There’s a scary allusion for yas.
      I am not sure if this is non-gmo corn or not. Years ago the field was divided and there were several varietal different tags on stakes but no longer. I think most of it is actually cow corn as there are dairy farms locally, not that that would preclude gmo breeding.

      So while in corn rowed coif did you also run on a beach with Ravel’s Bolero blasting away? 🙂

      Like

      • Office Diva says:

        Scoffs. As if! I had a bandana around the lot and was a sweaty little pig in a dirt pit, finding absolutely nothing but doing a lot of digging. Still fun times, though.

        Like

      • Office Diva says:

        PS – Of course you are a peaceful man; but I at least like the sound of the tripod duel. Twenty paces at dawn……could be fun!
        Remember that movie Crocodile Dundee, when Mick was accosted by a thug with a knife, and he just started laughing? “That’s naughta knife; THIS is a knife!” And then he whips out this huuuge Australian thing that could carve up an alligator. This is how I imagine your tripod duel would go. “That puny thing? That’s not a tripod. THIS is a tripod!!!”
        Grins.

        Like

  5. In Hadley fields the cornstalks grow
    Between the furrows, row on row,
    That mark the place; and in the skies
    A tripod seven feet does rise
    To see the plants spread out below.

    Like

  6. Phil Lanoue says:

    This does look terrific Steve and lighting is superb.

    Like

  7. bluebrightly says:

    A funny story…how aggravating though, the guy in the field, and his remark – wow. I hesitate to say it but I used to encounter a LOT of rudeness in NY/NJ, and find it almost absent here. Do you have a tilting LCD screen – is that how you perched the camera up on the tripod for that angle? It’s great. It’s a strong image. Yours is a pretty part of the world – my son was at a school west of you for a while and when I used to come up, I enjoyed the rolling hills, farmland and Northampton – and I loved Raven Books. you must know it.

    Like

    • Thanks, Lynn. Yes, I am familiar with Raven Books. No, I don’t have a tilting screen although it would have been very useful. I carry a piece of black velvet cloth that I threw over the camera and stood on my toes to get the approximate framing planning on a crop. I leveled with a hot shoe bubble level and shot away.

      Like

      • bluebrightly says:

        Well, that’s impressive, especially to someone like myself, who tends to eschew tripods and almost any other piece of equipment, and just shoots away, hoping there will be some good ones in the batch! Seriously, I realize that if I took more time and used the tripod it would probably improve matters.

        Like

  8. Mark says:

    Haha, glad to read you were NOT incarcerated Steve, only scorn that you did not video and publicly shame the offender. Cool shot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

