10.23.2013 The Maples on Mount Pollux

These trees have been here before.  While Norwottuck is a big draw for me, so are these two trees.  They have been here for years  and will continue for more to come.  But….they are declining as you can tell from the upper bare branches.  And in yesterday’s post a part of the left tree trunk is noticeably decaying.  Amherst recently started a program to plant 2000 trees around town.  One of them can be seen here under the right hand tree although  it just looks like a hanging branch presently.  But one day it will replace that right hand tree when it needs to be removed.  There is also one near the left hand tree for the same purpose.  It will be sad when they reach their demise but many people are enjoying them now and will be able to do so for a while longer.Pollux-Maples-102013-900Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Environment., Fall Foliage, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 10.23.2013 The Maples on Mount Pollux

  1. Andrew says:

    It’s remarkably thoughtful to plant trees in such a way that as one generation dies another will grow in its place. It would be a good project to document the transition over the years. Wonderful colours. Being back in Europe for 10 days has reminded me how much I miss the change in the seasons.

    Like

    • Thanks for the idea, Andrew. We are lucky to live in a town that values the environment. Several of our previously tree-bare streets are now lined with saplings that one day will be lovely maples. If I am lucky I will get to see them mature. 🙂

      Like

  2. Impressive trees (and photo of them). I hope they will survive for a long time.

    Like

    • Thank you, Bente. I think they will be around for a while…maybe longer than I even. It is hard to tell just how “bothered” they are. I have seen trees with only one living branch carrying leaves for many years so maybe they have some time.

      Like

  3. The Maples are as stately as the Elms. Sad but young ones will take their place just as in humans and every form of life. These are truely beautiful. I’m glad that you chose to post the photograph,

    Like

  4. David Patterson says:

    I love the kind of simple, uncluttered composition… nicely done!

    Like

  5. Lyle Krahn says:

    I guess it’s all part of the circle of life. It’s amazing how long those trees live and how much beauty they provide in that time, including this photo.

    Like

  6. Just Rod says:

    This must be an example of the in your face object. Although the trees are in their context nothing detracts from their stately beauty
    Good story and excellent image Steve

    Like

  7. Phil Lanoue says:

    Terrific scene with these magnificent trees you captured Steve.

    Like

  8. How nice that those two trees are at the top of a rise. Did you help elevate them by getting down low?

    Like

  9. Not for this image, Steve. I lowered the tripod about half its height for the previous posted image and tried a couple of other angles from directly below the trees. But the rise of Mount Pollux is steep enough that I was able to stand full height for this.

    Like

  10. Office Diva says:

    Again, the colors are just stunning. Looking at them, I have so much longing! I once lived in Canada and have memories of walking along a very quiet lane with no houses, just many, many maples, the riot of colors and the leaves crunching underfoot. That is pretty cool stuff for a Texan.
    Today when I was driving through a neighborhood in San Antonio, I noticed a yard that all of the tops of the trees cut off; the trunks and all limbs were intact, but no tree tops. It was the most bizarre and disturbing sight. Like a Crime Scene of Nature. I am trying to figure out what horrible thing happened there to lop off the very tops of those trees off. There are no leaves. Weird.
    Those trees seems as though they are still full of life, but then I am no arborist.
    Is it just me, or do the two trees seem to be touching each other or reaching out to the other with their bare limbs? I’ve been told that I have a very active imagination. Perhaps it really is Castor and Pollux. ;o)

    Like

    • Yes, they are touching and their branches entwine a bit up there where they are leafless. Growing old together. Years ago I read “The Secret Life of Plants” and they believe plants can communicate with each other or at least feel empathy so maybe they are like an old couple.
      I also once saw a topless row of trees. Never did ask what for but it does seem an odd thing to do.
      I am glad to be sharing our autumn color riot when I can. I’ll look for some more this weekend.
      Thanks, Diva Dahlink. 🙂

      Like

  11. bluebrightly says:

    There is a sense of grandeur here. It’s grand! (BTW, I found you through a comment on Draw & Shoot – Karen’s blog)

    Like

  12. Sandra says:

    Wonderful trees and location! And great autumn colours, too. Sad though to read about their condition but I’m with Lyle – it is the circle of life.

    Like

  13. Pingback: 10.25.2015 Mount Pollux Finale | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

