10.19.2013 The Full Hunters Moon and Quabbin Valley

Some days I just don’t feel motivated to leave the house.  Today was one of those after a rough work day yesterday but I dragged myself out the door and down the road I went.  A bit lazy, I drove to Quabbin Park hoping to see the moon hanging over something or another.  At Enfield Lookout there it was but slightly hidden by some clouds.  While waiting for the clouds to mosey a bit I made this image of Mount Ram and the Quabbin Valley.  I am not sure if it was my mood or just the need to do something different, but I shot in the subdued lighting giving me a longer exposure and richer colors.Quabbin-Valley-from-Enfield-Lookout-101913-1000WebI had hoped to get out last night for the Full Hunters Moon rising over the Pelham Hills, but was too beat.  So here is the Hunters Moon in the morning setting in a sky lit by the sunrise. 🙂FUll-Moonset-from-Enfield-Lookout-101913-800Web

It always pays to go out just for the experience and sometimes an image presents itself.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to 10.19.2013 The Full Hunters Moon and Quabbin Valley

  1. Andrew says:

    Both excellent images – the longer exposure – richer colours work well. Well worth getting up for.

    Like

  2. Your sunrise moon is very good, Steve.

    Like

  3. Two photos that announce that fall has arrived. The moon gives the 2nd photo an added touch. I’m glad that you were able to drag/remove yourself from the comfort of home. 🙂 Lovely pictures.

    Like

  4. Lyle Krahn says:

    Beautiful shots. The advice about going out and an will present itself is so right. I have found that so many times.

    Like

  5. Just Rod says:

    I’ve read that the hour after sunrise and before sunset are the two best times of day to shoot landscapes. If only they were at more convenient times 🙂
    They don’t come any better than these Steve. You have captured the fall mood and perhaps the artist’s well.

    Like

  6. Phil Lanoue says:

    Terrific scenic Steve!
    We had clouds here for the Hunter’s moon so I had to satisfy myself with the Waxing Gibbous on the previous evening.

    Like

  7. Nice shot at, to me, one of the toughest locations because of the vegetation that blocks the view of the closer part of the Reservoir. You turned the problem into a solution!
    James

    Like

    • Thanks, James. This spot was in my thinking when I chose my tripod. It extends to almost 7 feet tall and I stood on top of one of the barrier rocks here and still had to get on my tip toes. Is that cheating? 🙂 I was thinking of standing on one of the picnic benches and may some day as the trees are not getting any shorter. Probably the best vantage would be from on top of my vehicle….maybe I’ll try that too.

      Like

  8. The first photo is a warm and lovely panorama. Happy fall colors to you.

    Like

  9. Office Diva says:

    I’m late for the party, as usual, but at least it’s still in full swing.
    Thank you, Green Heron, for putting on your tights and jetpack, I mean, camera pack and venturing forth on a day when you didn’t feel like venturing forth. It must be such a burden being a nature photo hero and at the mercy of our selfish cries for amusement and beauty. You’re a good sport to humor us so.
    Both very nice pics, although I like the second one the best; not just because of the moon, but because of those pink scuddy clouds. What can I say, I love pink!
    Beeyooteefuul. :O)

    Like

  10. bluebrightly says:

    What a photograph! And that last sentence is so true.

    Like

  11. Sandra says:

    … and I’m always the last to join the party …. 😉 Slowly catching up with blog posts…

    Once again, lovely colours and composition. You are lucky to have these views nearby!

    Like

  12. quabbinite says:

    I don’t know that you can take a bad picture of the Quabbin in Autumn. Still, you seem to have excellent methods of taking an already beautiful scene, and making it even more appealing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

