10.11.2013 The Claustrophobic Spelunker at Sunrise

Up until an MRI a few years ago, I had no idea I was a claustrophobic.  Heights yes, but holes in the ground…and metal machinery…was a surprise.  I should have my head examined…well, I was having an MRI for just that. 🙂  Anyhoo, while in Maine I spent some time with an online photography buddy, Nate Parker.  Should you ever be in need of a guide for the Bar Harbor/Acadia N.P. neighborhood hook up with Nate.  Not only does he know the park inside and out, but a lot of cool spots around the park as well.

As I was saying…..anyhoo, Nate showed me a cave.  It is a very cool cave but I have this little fear thing.  But I was pretty excited to check out this spot and am very glad i did.Cave-with-Sunstar-100613-800WebHe also showed me a path to the shore in another spot.  Unfortunately, there was this little distraction along the horizon line.  We’ll just call it the Sunrise. 🙂Bar-Harbor-sunrise-100613-900Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Maine, Sunrise and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 10.11.2013 The Claustrophobic Spelunker at Sunrise

  1. Lottie Nevin says:

    Steve, you are not alone – I’ve not yet met a person who has enjoyed the MRI experience. Pete had one a couple of months back and it totally freaked him out! Your Man Cave photograph is superb, catching the sun just as it’s going down, the light is magical. Hope you are having a great trip despite all the nonsense that’s going on over there! What a shambles eh?

    Like

    • Thanks, Lottie. There are open MRI machines but I never seem to get one for my tests.
      We did have a good time despite the shutdown/closure. There is plenty to see outside the park and after a few days the rangers were only hassling people who took their vehicles around the barriers. Walk-ins were not bothered. 🙂

      Like

  2. Andrew says:

    I had to look up spelunker. Great word. I need to find a way of working it into by day to day conversation. I thought it was a child’s game. Excellent cave shot. One frame or blended?? As for MRIs well they are better than biopsies but that ain’t saying much. I’d rather go spelunking any day.

    Like

    • Thanks, Andrew. It is one shot. I had shot series of three, but preferred this one over any blending. I also had a flashlight but have never really liked light painting.
      I’ve never had a biopsy but Murphy will have one Monday. We think he just has a skin tag, but will have it tested just the same. Hmmmm…..closed into a metal tube or stuck inside a cave. This one was not too bad as the doorway was large and right there. Leaving sight of the world might be a tough one. 🙂

      Like

  3. Steve these are excellent photos. Quite beautiful sunset. Could be a photo for framing. I laughed at the love boat theme. Used to watch that many moons ago. 🙂

    MRIs are a piece of cake but I do not care for caves. I’m afraid there will be a “cave in” while I’m in there. I hate bridges too.

    Are you still on vacation or back home?

    Like

    • Thanks, Yvonne. We used to watch Love Boat too. A nice escape from the misery of the real world. Yep, the idea of a cave in and being entombed is a nightmare producer for sure. I also have a dream about going into a tighter and tighter crevasse until I am trapped.
      We are back home and taking care of business around the house and yard. By the time Tuesday rolls around I will be happy to go back to work. Well, not really. 🙂

      Like

  4. Sandra says:

    More than one benefit from these shots:
    – enjoying the 21mm Zeiss 🙂
    – fighting fears!
    Both led to a wonderful picture – I especially like the cave photo.for its mood.

    So what’s next? I know!!! You will enter a plane and fly to Europe 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, Sandra. I will be shedding a few tears and doing my best Bilbo with the Zeiss on Monday. Will not want to send it back.
      The cave image has risen to near the top of my favorites for sure.
      Uh, the plane will be a tougher one to overcome. Height and enclosure combined.

      Like

  5. Just Rod says:

    Arggh – just finished a comment and hit the wrong button! Here it is again.
    So many phobias so little time! I share the height and claustrophobia issues. Had a brain scan and the doctor said he couldn’t find anything – Susan, who was present said “I could have told you that!”. 🙂
    The cave shot is magnificent. I especially like the way the sun picks out the rocks in the foreground. Like Andrew I am wondering how you accomplished that.

    Like

  6. Office Diva says:

    Ah, the return of the Green Heron! So glad to see your photo goodies splashed across my reader. I hope you had a great vacation and didn’t have to leap over too many government obstacles in your wanderings.

    That’s a fab picture of the sunset, even the one with the giant vessel teeming with humanity and ecoli. Gimme an MRI, cave, or biopsy any day; God preserve me from a vacation on a cruise ship. (Yeah, I’m weird; but then, that secret is already out of the bag). 🙂

    Happy Saturday to you, and once again, welcome back.

    Like

    • Leaping and I are no longer pals, Diva dahlink. I either go around or under now. 🙂 But it actually wasn’t too bad although I did not get to visit my favorite couple of spots as they were too long a walk but the rangers were not giving people on foot a hard time.

      If that is weird than we are good company. I would not go near a cruise ship even if I did watch Love Boat. Although the episode with Hayley Mills was mighty tempting.

      Happy Saturday returned. Two more days of doing whatever I want…or whatever Mary Beth tells me to do…before it is back to the grind. Just kidding…Mary Beth gives me a list and I pick and choose…as long as it all gets done. 🙂

      Like

  7. Lyle Krahn says:

    That cave shot is special. I suppose the claustrophobia pointed you in the direction of the sunset rather than deeper into the cave:)

    Like

  8. Catching up on the yardwork so I will respond to all your comments later. I got up at 4 am and wandered through the woods in the dark by flashlight. I always shoot sunrises. 🙂 I guess all my friends sleep in? 🙂

    Like

  9. I just noticed that the cave opening has approximately the shape of a cloud, and in fact some clouds are visible through it. That’s a nice bit of harmonizing.

    The substrate in central Texas is mostly limestone, so there are plenty of places where, over aeons, flowing creeks have carved out overhangs of rock. In a few places it’s obvious that part of an overhang has come crashing down. The likelihood that I would be photographing in one of those places as the exact time of the collapse is minuscule, but I’ve sometimes thought about the possibility.

    Like

    • Several years ago Mary Beth accompanied me on a trip to photograph wildflowers at some ledges near here. It was sunny so she sat under one of the ledges for the shade and the owners just happened by and suggested that they just might fall on her. While none had fallen in quite some time, the thought of it happening while she sat there makes me queasy still.

      Like

  10. David Patterson says:

    Sweet! All of the elements lined up nicely for your time in the cave. I’ve been there a couple of times, but on each visit I was alone and too spooked to take advantage of the opportunity. This is a wonderfully natural rendering of a pretty unique scene – nicely done!

    Like

    • Thanks, David. Many, many years ago, before the claustrophobic darkness entered my life, Mary Beth and I visited the cave and watched Black Guillemots bobbing around in the ocean. Nowadays the only way I could possibly get down there and into the cave would be with the support of a friend like Nate. 🙂 So I may never visit the cave again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

