09.12.2013 Black and White….and Green

Starflowers.  They are one of my favorite late spring early summer flowers and have a very interesting feature…the number seven.  A rarity-the starflower is a series of 7s…7 leaves,7 sepals, 7 petals, and 7 stamens/anthers. They are quite lovely as well with pure white satiny petals topped with yellow orange anthers over rich green leaves.Starflower-pair,-Graves-Farm-Loop-800FBRight after spending some quality time with the Hunters Brook Trail sentinel, I noticed a nice threesome of Starflowers next to the path.  I decided to make it a moody and somewhat dramatic image and totally different from the one above.Starflower-trio-in-black-and-white-800FBI imagine most will prefer the color image, but I think mixing it up is a good idea and I hope you like the different treatment…even if you prefer the first. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Closeup Photography, Flora, Patterns in Nature, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 09.12.2013 Black and White….and Green

  1. I like the black and white. Stunning!

    Like

  2. Just Rod says:

    Right, I do prefer the first but I also like the B and W. I like the direction of the stamens in the first and the yellow really helps them to stand out.

    Like

  3. One of my many favorites too. We call it star of the woods in Norwegians (skogstjerne). Yes I love the coloured one, but the B&W is interesting too.

    Like

    • Thanks, Bente. That is a good name for them…they are little stars in the woods and should be recognized as such. When they are really going good the whole forest floor gets carpeted with them.

      Like

  4. Sandra says:

    Wonderful starflowers, Steve!
    In this case, I very much prefer the colour version as the brown background works well with the dark green leaves and the bright flowers. The middle position works well here.
    In the monochrome, I find the large dark part to the right and to the bottom too disturbing. Not sure if it was possible to move the three blossoms more to the right bottom to avoid it as the leaves at the top show more detail.

    Like

  5. tomwhelan says:

    Very pretty, I like the first better. I love starflowers as well…

    Like

  6. With all those 7s, we could say that the starflower is in its prime (7 being a prime number). Judging from my experience in Texas, I agree with you about the rarity of 7-merous plants (that’s how botanists indicate a characteristic number of parts in a species).

    As for color versus black and white, I’m with Sandra in preferring the color version of these wildflowers, and for the reasons she gave. At the same time, I understand your liking for the way the white seems to float in front of the black.

    Like

  7. Andrew says:

    Seven is my lucky number! Maybe. Well oddly enough I prefer the colour version. The subtlety of the tones works wonderfully – the B&W is strong and excellent contrast but loses the range the colour image offers. Its good to see them side by side for comparison. Lovely work, Steve.

    Like

    • Thank you, Andrew. Well, if I couldn’t convince you then the color version wins. 🙂 I guess it’s not a contest, really, and each has its particular qualities which please me. But it is always good to hear the view of others and pleasing others is important too. I would not be posting these if I did not want to have other folks enjoy the pictures but, after all, we must like the image ourselves before unleashing them on the public. 🙂

      Like

  8. Lottie Nevin says:

    Star Flowers, these are new to me. very lovely.

    Like

  9. What beautiful little flowers Steve!

    Like

  10. Greg Russell says:

    Gorgeous flowers Steve! I do like the color version here, but am blown away by the uniqueness of them, as well as the delicate white petals.

    Like

  11. Thanks, Greg. They are such a delight and so numerous…it is hard to decide which to shoot.

    Like

  12. bluebrightly says:

    I love Starflowers – gorgeous photos!

    Like

Leave a Reply

