09.01.2013 A Day at the Lotus Pond

Actually just an hour or two, but I was thinking of the Marx Brothers earlier.  There is no tie in to the images from here….I just like the Marx Brothers.  Especially when Chico played the piano. 🙂

Today started with a dismal few hours.  Disappointing light, a slight mist and very high humidity.  The swamp was not a good place photographically although I did see a great Egret for the first time in ages.  So it was off to the Lotus Pond.

We had a short but hard rain last night and the flowers had taken a beating.  I only found one to my liking and even that is a pretty common shot.Lotus-090113-800WebBut the pond does have a lot to offer.  And I cannot pass up a bullfrog, can I?Bullfrog-on-Lotus-Pad-090113-900WebAside from the beauty of this individual, I really was drawn to the surface tension in his/her puddle.

I’ve often seen and photographed the water drops that collect on the pads.  These do not quite have the quicksilver look to them which I prefer, but there is a nice pattern of drops through the image.  I’d rather the shadows around the drops were not so strong, but that is what it was.Lotus-Pad-with-Water-DropsI was just reading Tony Sweet‘s blog post about being true to your own vision and not simply copying others.  It is something we should all keep in mind.  I am not sure who I am channeling through my photographs, but there is some of everyone whose images I have seen in there somewhere.  I am basically a natural history photographer who tries to present my subjects with some artistic interpretation.  Whether I succeed is always up in the air and your comments certainly give me a bit of feedback.  Thank you for taking the time to both look at the images and for honestly responding to them.  I appreciate you all no matter whether you leave praise or criticism. 🙂

And, since I mentioned Chico Marx earlier, here is a little bit of his talent for both music and entertainment that I hope you will enjoy…especially Rod. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Closeup Photography, Fauna, Flora, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 09.01.2013 A Day at the Lotus Pond

  1. Just Rod says:

    Some lovely photos Steve. And thanks for the Chico interlude. The tension on froggy’s puddle us very interesting.
    My favourite today is the abstract water drops on leaf.

    Like

    • I am glad you enjoyed it all, Rod. Like Porky Pig, Chico always makes me smile. I hope his life was as enjoyable as the characters he played in his movies…they were pretty much all the same, weren’t they? 🙂

      Like

  2. Wow, I must be waaaaaay behind the times. I’ve never watched any of the Marx bro’s clips on You Tube. Loved the piano playing of Chico. But back to you, Steve. Oh yes. Critigue the pics. Well all are very nice but none spike my interest as much as the gorgeous frog. I will just about always like a photo that contains a creature of some sort. I’m not much of a critic since I don’t look for the minute details of a photograph.

    Like

    • You opinion matters to me as much as anyone else, Yvonne. A frog will almost always be my favorite…that’s why they show up here so often. You can count on more.
      I grew up watching the Marx brothers…I was not much of a Stooges fan. I may not have been the brightest street lamp on the avenue, but they just seemed stupid to me. I hope no one hates me now. 🙂

      Like

  3. Lottie Nevin says:

    I’m a sucker for frogs and water drops. Keep ’em coming Steve 😀

    Like

  4. Andrew says:

    Well I’m a Marx Bros fan too even though they were really before my time. I’m also a lotus and frog fan so these ticked all my boxes. More Kermits always welcome and maybe a few words from Harpo?

    Like

  5. The Marx Brothers movies were before my time also as far as released, but as a child I saw them on television frequently. Groucho had his own quiz show…You bet your life… which my family would watch faithfully. Actually, we watched way too much television faithfully.
    I am always on the lookout for Kermit and Fergus too.
    Still raining…still dreaming. 🙂

    Like

  6. Your photographs show more artistic flair and technical competence than those of most bloggers.

    As for the Marx Brothers’ movies, I didn’t get to know them—and enjoy them—till around 1971, when I would catch them on television from time to time. A couple of decades earlier, though, like you, I often watched You Bet Your Life. I didn’t learn till later that the theme song of the quiz show had appeared in the Marx Brothers’ 1930 film Animal Crackers.

    Like

    • Thanks very much Steve. I appreciate your kind words.
      My folks were addicted to television, so my brother and I got to see a lot of the early adult programs rather than just cartoons…but the cartoons were great.

      Like

Leave a Reply

