08.18.2013 Return to Harkness Pond

Not exactly “Return to Mayberry”, but in some ways it was like old times.  Once again, the pond was foggy and I couldn’t resist another tree in the fog image.Harkness-Pond-081713-900WebI had hoped for a sunrise from the far end, but that obviously will be for yet another day.  I did continue around the pond and found a big fat hairy spider on its web.  I’ve posted it a bit smaller so as not to scare anyone too seriously. 🙂 If you’d like to see it large, well go ahead and click the image….I’m willing to bet Sandra won’t.Garden-Orbweaver-081713-800WebThat’s the Black and Yellow Argiope/Argiope Aurantia which is exceedingly common almost everywhere around here.

I had hoped more for flowers than spiders and happened upon a nice composition of Pickerelweed with the sky contrasting richly with the plant which was bathed in mixed light.Pickerelweed-081713-800WebThe sharper eyed among you might notice that I missed the rear bloom a tad with my focus.  I’m happy with the image just the same.

Finally, I found a new flower, to me of course, that I found quite humorous.  It resembles a bug a little with its anthers resembling antennae.Water-Willow-Justicia-americana-081813-800WebIt is the Water-willow (Justicia americana) and as I searched my guides and the web I found that there is another plant of totally different genus called Water Willow.  Maybe the big difference is the hyphen.  Even though we only just met, it seems to want a big hug. 🙂

So, all in all, it was a nice walk around the pond on Saturday.  I did get my sunrise this morning, although not at the pond, and I’ll post that tomorrow.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Closeup Photography, Flora, Landscape, macro photography, Nature Photography, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 08.18.2013 Return to Harkness Pond

  1. Just Rod says:

    What a beautiful collection Steve. I’m a sucker for foggy days too and captured the reflections so well. The spider is so sharp it almost made my skin crawl. The Pickerel Weed lighting is very dramatic. What a find on the water-willow. Its a lovely flower and the textures show up so well. What a great return to the pond.

    Like

  2. Lottie Nevin says:

    I echo Rod’s sentiments. You are certainly on a roll with this pond series. Beauties, the lot of them!

    Like

  3. Andrew says:

    Lovely portfolio, Steve. The spider is very cool.

    Like

  4. I’m so glad that you like the pond. The foggier the better the photograph. I like the serenity of a foggy morning. The spider is a sharp looking cookie. But best of all is the beautiful color or an unusual looking flower. Nice find for sure.

    Like

    • Thanks, Yvonne. It is a nice little pond that does look better with a bit of fog and low light. We are very lucky here to have a fairly extensive trail system around the outskirts of town with many different habitats to enjoy. The swamp I visit is also part of a regional trail system.

      Like

      • You are very fortunate to have a trail system. Here we have a 2 mile trail for walking running, or cycling that is way out of town and goes through a semi-wooded area. I would not go there as a woman for sure. The area where you live sounds so idylic minus the litter. Guess we never can have what once was in days gone by. 🙂

        Like

      • So if you would not go there as a woman…then what would you go as? 🙂 All kidding aside, I think even here in Happy Valley is is not a given that a woman should walk alone on a trail. There is rarely trouble but unfortunately and sadly it is tempting fate. Most spots are not as littered as that waterfall. There might be a cigarette butt or the occasional piece of paper but the majority of folks pick up after themselves…even the dog poop. 🙂

        Like

  5. Sandra says:

    Yup, right – no urge to enlarge the Borussia Dortmund spider 😮 😉
    The moody lake is my favourite – I love trees in fog. The Pickerelweed looks great against the deep blue sky!

    The ads below the post are sometimes funny. I saw one from “Feed-the-pig Org” when I opened this post….

    Like

    • Well, we had already established that my spider images will not be amongst your faves, haven’t we? 🙂 I am happy the other images maybe make up for the spider a little.
      I never get to see the ads. I hope none have been for anything objectionable. I had no idea there were any.

      Like

  6. Phil Lanoue says:

    Really enjoyed the froggy, uh I mean foggy scene! 🙂
    But Oooo a spider! Yikes!

    Like

  7. That’s a nice abstract of the pickerelweed, and it harmonizes with the American water willow (which is common in Austin, but whose flowers here are a lot paler than the one you portrayed).

    Like

  8. What a great place to photograph, you have truly captured the beauty of this place, nicely done Steve !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

