08.13.2013 Sunrise in New Salem

I don’t always post in order of time or calendar.  Before going to Gunn Brook Falls on Saturday I went to my favorite sunrise spot in New Salem overlooking North Quabbin.  I was a little later than I would have liked, but still managed to be there in time for a quick set up and frantic shot at first light.Dawn-New-Salem-August-10,-2013-900WebI tried several different exposures thinking I would do some HDR blending, but as it happened one exposure worked well on its own.  That was also the case when the sun broke the horizon.  There was enough at the shadow end with the base exposure to create a realistic image of what I visualized without doing any blending. And….I was able to get a nice sunstar at f/16 without renting a Zeiss.  However, I will still rent one for the October return visit to Acadia. 🙂 Dawn-New-Salem-August-10,-2013-2-1024WebSaturday was a rewarding day with the waterfall and the dawn shots.  My next post will be chronologically correct with some images from Sunday. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 08.13.2013 Sunrise in New Salem

  1. Just Rod says:

    Exquisite. Two beautiful images. I particularly appreciate the sunstar, almost understated. Who cares about chronological correctness. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks very much, Rod. I guess we could say that the calendar is just there as a suggestion. 🙂 When processing this type image it is very easy to go too far. Opening the shadows also is a delicate balance. Using one exposure introduces a lot of noise which becomes very apparent if we try to give the shadows too much light. Restraint is just the ticket.

      Like

  2. Wow-wow. First one is bursting with beautiful color and the light is just perfect for the scene. HDR is not needed here and I’m so glad that you did not use that to edit these two gorgeous images.

    Like

    • Thanks for the enthusiastic response, Yvonne. 🙂 HDR has its place and if I use it I do not go over the top. One can produce some wonderful images with HDR that look very real. Unfortunately, many folks use it to create over-saturated bizarrely lit images that give the technique a bad name.

      Like

  3. Andrew says:

    I echo the comments above Steve. Both the praise for the images and your own on how to use HDR – a useful technique that is sadly abused.

    Like

  4. Lottie Nevin says:

    Steve, these are absolutely gorgeous. You are so talented!

    Like

  5. Beautiful images Steve, working with HDR is a fine line and sadly many people fall over that line and it just doesn’t work !!

    Like

  6. David Patterson says:

    Nice… I’m in your neck of the woods visiting Granny and Grandpa in Northampton as I write this. Love that sunstar, and your gentle treatment of the scene looks beautiful.

    Like

    • Thanks, David. The mid-week is tough for me, but if you are still around this weekend I am in the phone book. 🙂

      Like

      • David Patterson says:

        Short trip and am back in Maine again. I enjoyed exploring along the Mill River toward he Smith College campus (walking Oliver every morning), and also the gorge up at Chesterfield Gap (I think that’s what it was called). Nice part of the world you live in 🙂

        Like

      • The gorge is one of my favorite places….well, there are too many favorite places to list actually. But I can say the same for Maine. It’s not called “Vacationland” for naught.

        Like

  7. Office Diva says:

    Ok, if this is your idea of “hasty set-up”, color me impressed. You don’t wanna see my hasty/no set-up shots. hahahaha! I do adore that first one………..the sky is amazing and I like the aura of mystery. The second is great too, but I like the moment before sunrise rather than sunrise itself. Maybe it’s the buildup factor, huh? Or maybe it’s just “Oh, it’s the sun. Again. Yep, seen it!” :O)
    Very nice work, as usual. cheers!

    Like

    • Thank you Madame O’Diva. Happy to see you back and I am eagerly awaiting an entry from the Office Diva’s European Vacation.
      Well, as the phrase goes, it’s all in knowing where to stand and I have been to this location many times. The trick is to be there when you get a sky like this.

      Like

  8. Good job with those coolly fiery clouds in the first picture. The name Salem means peace (Arabic salaam, Hebrew shalom), and it looks like you found some new photographic peace that morning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

