07.28.2013 The Green Heron Strikes Again

Actually it is just sitting there waiting for something to strike at…it did not.  I have a total of 3 Green Heron images.  This post now spends my supply, but I caused some interweb virtual pain with a certain bloggie friend and felt I should mend that quickly.

So here are two more pictures of the Green Heron, or two Green Herons from along the Amherst railtrail although on different days.Green-Heron-Railtrail,-061911-1200And as different as different could be.Green-Heron-High-Key-in-fog-800FBNow the vault is empty.  There is always a chance for more, but I don’t run into them very often and usually they are much farther away than my little 300 will reach.

Am I back in your good graces, O’Diva? 🙂

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Fauna, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 07.28.2013 The Green Heron Strikes Again

  1. Lottie Nevin says:

    The heron spying on the world from his post is a gem 🙂

    Like

  2. Office Diva says:

    Of course, I am thrilled! Look at those two beauties! I love them both, but there is really something about that second picture (One word caption: Stumpified). It’s stark, nearly monotone, not quite b/w, is it? It’s a wonderful rich brown if you ask me. Then again, too much monitor time has my eyes darting off in different directions.

    The first picture is great because of the different colors in reflection – you get to see the underbelly. (That is probably not what it is called; I cannot even call a horse the right name, so I know you will correct me if I am wrong. Feel free, I live to be educated).

    Definitely have some brownie points for these. Merci beaucoup!

    Like

    • Ah, no more tossing and turning with guilt, O’Diva. 🙂 I like your title although the tree in its current state is known as a snag. Yes, it has lost most of its saturation because of the fog but is not entirely monotone.
      Underbelly works for me. If there is another term, and I am sure there is, I am stumpified too. 🙂
      I am very happy you are pleased with my humble offerings, O’Diva.

      Like

  3. Just Rod says:

    Both photos are very nice. The second, the brownish Green Heron, reminds me of old bird books where the ornithologist sketched the birds without colour. I have an old book from England that looks like this.
    Very striking, non-striking herons.

    Like

  4. The little Green in the first photo is beautiful. The reflection is perfect. Getting that pic with your 300mm did a beautiful job. It is tack sharp for my eyes. The second pose I like as well without any color for it gives the photo a somber mood to match the dejected pose of the heron.

    Both are great captures.

    Like

  5. Andrew says:

    I see I have a rival in the bird photo stakes ! I like the second one a lot – heron a snag – the first one has a nice reflection but the branches bug me. But then again, what do I know 😉

    Like

    • Hmmm….what do you know? Quite a lot I think, Andrew. The branches are why this doesn’t get more air time, but it is quite a natural state so I do share it some.
      I am no rival. In Nature photography, birds are my biggest challenge. You are still da man, Andrew. 🙂

      Like

  6. penpusherpen says:

    i’m glad the Green Heron ‘struck’ again Steve. gives me a chance to see species I’d never have a chance to otherwise. xPenx

    Like

  7. Phil Lanoue says:

    Always love seeing the cool greenies!

    Like

  8. Pingback: A juvenile bird | Portraits of Wildflowers

Leave a Reply

