07.14.2013 Back to Poor Farm Swamp

It’s close to home and, if nothing else, the rail trail that passes through provides a good walk with the kit on my back.  I think it will be unavailable though soon enough.  The trail is going to be repaved.  Some genius, and all those superior to that person who approved the mixture, thought it would be a good idea to add in crushed recycled glass with the asphalt.  Many flat bicycle tires later the work has been approved to replace the tire biter paving with something a bit friendlier.  It is not at my pay grade to question these people, but I do think pretty much any of us common folks could have seen the folly.

So on to the images.  Being the clumsy sort, I scared a Great Blue Heron off a log in the pool.  As I walked the trail I saw that he/she had landed near a tree with a possibility of something unique.  I am not a very skilled bird photographer like my friend Andrew (check out his blog) but I get lucky every once in a while. In this case the heron hid from me but not as well as it might have.  As always, please click for a large image.Great-Blue-Heron-peekaboo-071413-800FBAfter a short while, my threat level seemed to drop and the heron presented a nice pose.Great-Blue-Heron-peekaboo-2-071413-800FBI know, the bird is about to walk out of the frame so not the greatest composition…did I mention my lack of bird photography skill? 🙂  On the way out the sun had burned off the fog and the heat was starting to build.  No a/c for the swamp dwellers.  Although it can’t be seen in the image, the heron was vibrating his/her throat which is part of the cooling process…along with the lower bill agape.Great-Blue-Heron-cooling-071413-800FBA fun morning for sure.  I had started out hoping to photograph some turtles, but for some reason they were jumpier than usual and every time I even looked at one, literally, it dropped into the water from the log perch.  But the dragonflies were active and I did get one image of a Slaty Skimmer.Slaty-Skimmer-071413-800FBThanks for looking in and bearing with me on this longer than usual post.

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Animal Behavior, Fauna, Insects, Nature Photography, Photographer's Websites and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 07.14.2013 Back to Poor Farm Swamp

  1. In your pictures this looks like Paradise. Very nice, Steve.

    Like

    • Thanks, Bente. Swamp=Paradise! Well I certainly feel that way. Unfortunately, over the decades and centuries in this country swamps have been vilified which has led to them being filled and otherwise done away with. Swamps are wonderful places…well, except for the mozzies. 🙂

      Like

  2. A great looking great blue heron in the second photo down. I am surprised at how warm/hot it is in the Northeast. If the bird is panting then it is really hot.

    Like

  3. Andrew says:

    Lovely images Steve. Herons are excellent subjects. The ode is a cracker too. Glass tracks?? I hope the planners are not on performance related pay. Oh and thank you for the kind words. By no means too long a post. I never get bored with nature.

    Like

    • Thanks, Andrew. The bigger the bird the better my chances. The slower the bird the better too. 🙂
      I am happy to spread the word about your images. I admire them very much.

      Like

  4. Just Rod says:

    What a great morning. I love great blue herons. Very comical hiding everything but the beak.
    Swamps and marshes are very special places. You have really captured the mood of the place.
    Too bad the planners don’t make tracks in another sense.
    Very interesting post.

    Like

  5. Lottie Nevin says:

    I adore the first one with the heron peeping out from behind the wood. I’ll never forget my first sighting of a heron. I must have been around 6yrs old. I’d been playing down in the water meadows close to my house and suddenly saw this huge grey bird that looked quite enormous to me at the time. I remember racing back home as fast as my little legs could carry me and straight to my drawing book so that I could draw and then show my mother what I had seen. I was convinced it was a stork but she soon put me right when she saw my picture! These are all great photos Steve, nice work 🙂

    Like

  6. Thanks, Lottie. And thanks for sharing your story. Nature is filled with so much wonder. I remember the first time I saw such a large bird I thought it was a Phoenix having read the story David and the Phoenix http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_and_the_Phoenix while a child.
    After just reading your FB share of the article about the Jakarta train I guess my tale of shredded tires is a bit pale.

    Like

  7. penpusherpen says:

    I’ve just been trying to vibrate my throat to cool down, too, Steve, It hasn’t worked though. seems that Britain is having a great sunshiny Summer, Pheww!! Also do not apologise for a longer blog, loved every word, and agree with your wondering about the ideas some ‘higher’ ups come up with, mayhap they don’t have any brain cells, just light bulb moments, that should have stayed buried in the darkness. This won’t post, ‘cos the previous one didn’t , so I’m saying hello to your spam folder as I ‘post’ this. 😦 xPenx

    Like

    • For some reason I decided to view my spam folder and was shocked to find you there, Pen. Although I read of your difficulties I did not suspect I was party to the crime. I will check more often until the problem is solved. So unfortunate though it is, happily I have found you. 🙂
      When I try to vibrate my throat I just sweat harder and get more uncomfortable, Pen. We were just not cut out for the bird world but are relegated to mere observation….speaking of which…if you have not already watched “Winged Migration” then I recommend it as about as close as we can come to experiencing what it is like to fly with the birds. 🙂
      I will try to keep up the longer blog theme but I sometimes have little to say which, in my case, is wise more often than not. 🙂
      So thanks for bearing with it and continuing to leave messages. I appreciate them all and on that note am about to go see unspammed Pen message number two. 🙂

      Like

  8. Sandra says:

    As you already know, I think that the first photo is a killer and a winner photograph. Just fantastic!
    Many thumbs up for it 🙂

    Like

  9. Based on that first picture, I’d bill you as a good bird photographer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

