06.23.2013 Two Days at Compass Pond

Every day offers different opportunities and experiences.  One thing that wasn’t different each day was the fog on Katahdin which suggested more trips to Compass Pond. I’ve mentioned that I like to return to the same spot often and here, two days in a row, I got some nice atmosphere to photograph.

The low lying fog on Compass Pond along with the soft light in the sky makes for a very peaceful moment.  This was just a few moments before the sunrise in my previous post.Compass-Pond-Dawn-060113-900FBThe following day had similar conditions but  the mood is very different.Compass-Pond-Sunrise-060313-960FBAnd sometimes, given favorable conditions, we can even get something appealing at noon.Compass Pond at noon 060313-800FBThat’s it, I think, for Compass Pond this year.  I hope you enjoyed the different looks.  Flowers up next. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Maine, Sunrise and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 06.23.2013 Two Days at Compass Pond

  1. selah says:

    such a beautiful place!

    Like

  2. penpusherpen says:

    so much beauty, Steve, and you never get tired of looking. Natural weather conditions creating totally different painted canvases. Mother Nature has a perfect ‘eye’ methinks. xx

    Like

    • Absolutely she does,. Thanks, Pen. There is so much beauty in our own backyards, both actually and figuratively, that I don’t travel all that much. But Maine has a special appeal to me.
      I am always happy for a change in the weather. Who would be happy with sunny and warm every day? Some, I guess. Not me and, I would guess, not you either. 🙂

      Like

  3. Phil Lanoue says:

    Outstanding scenics Steve!

    Like

  4. Second attempt! It’s a lovely spot Steve and I am guessing you used a different lens each time. The top image appeals to me most.

    Like

    • Sorry you had to try twice, Andrew. I appreciate your dogged determination. 🙂

      The top and third are the 21 and the middle is the 24-70. I really enjoyed using both Zeiss lenses. I wish I could have the bag filled with them. 🙂
      The first is my favorite as well.

      Like

  5. The first photo is the best. I think I looked at that picture for a full 5 minutes thinking how forunate you were to capture just the perfect light for that scene. So beautiful. The first pic would make a lovely moody painting. Also I am wondering if it would be suitable for a black and white.edit.

    Like

    • Thanks, Yvonne. I agree that the first is the most enjoyable of the three. It might be a good candidate for monochrome, but so much of the image, for me, is about the soft hues that I think it would be a very different image…but I’ll give it a shot. 🙂

      Like

  6. That’s fortunate and not forunate. Sorry.

    Like

  7. Greg Russell says:

    Really lovely images, Steve. This is a good example that you should have persistence in photography, and keep searching for the look you want…two days, similar conditions, but much different moods…

    Like

    • Thanks, Greg. Absolutely. I have several spots that I have images for but none quite what I would like…whatever that means. But even if I do get the penultimate image of a given spot there are still lots more sets of conditions that will need witnessing. 🙂

      Like

  8. I would echo Greg’s comment. I find that I make much better photographs of a place when I have visited it over and over in different conditions and times of day. Interesting you are doing the same. I like the mood in the top image the best.

    Like

  9. tomwhelan says:

    I like them all, but for me the dark look of the first one has the biggest impact. Pretty place…

    Like

    • Thanks, Tom. Having lived through it, the first is my favorite also for the feeling of peace that came with the moment. The other two just have a different mood to them.

      Like

  10. These are beautiful shots!

    Like

Leave a Reply

