06.19.2013 Blue Hour at Millinocket Lake and Compass Pond at Sunup

I recently spent a week in Maine visiting my friends Mark and Anita of Mark Picard Wildlife Photography for a few days and then a few days at Acadia National Park.  I’ll share some of the images from that week over the next few posts.

My first day, Friday, May 31, looked promising as there were some stormy skies, but the clouds became a solid mass and at sunset there was no sun to be seen.  As the light faded everything turned blue and I shot these little islands in Millinocket Lake.Millinocket-Lake-at-Dusk-b-053113-800FBWith a rare exception my every visit to the Baxter State Park area finds Mount Katahdin covered in a heavy haze, a fog or very unflattering clouds.  Just my luck it seems.  So on Saturday morning at dawn I took a quick look, saw the haze and headed for Compass Pond instead.  For this trip I had rented two Zeiss lenses, the 21mm f/2.8 and the 85mm f/1.4, with the hopes of capturing a sunstar at sunrise with the 21mm.  My two Canon zooms get terrible flares and I had rented the Zeiss’s with the hope of eliminating flares by using primes.  It worked on both counts.Compass-Pond-Sunrise-060113-1000FB I hated to send the Zeiss lenses back to LensRentals.com.  I think at least one of them will have to be a permanent member of the kit in the future.

So there are two landscapes from the trip.  More to come as well as some moose, a waterfall and, of course, lady’s slippers. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Maine and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 06.19.2013 Blue Hour at Millinocket Lake and Compass Pond at Sunup

  1. Wow, does a prime lens makes a huge difference. Which one did you use for the sunrise post? Quite impressive. A really beautiful photo, Steve. I’ll have to check out the site that you put in this post.

    ~yvonne~

    Like

    • Thank you, Yvonne. The sunrise shot was with the 21mm Zeiss…blue hour with the 70-200mm Canon.
      Mark does some fantastic work with moose as well as the landscapes around Baxter.

      Like

  2. The blue picture is a gem. The other one is also very good. Good lenses.. 🙂

    Like

  3. Phil Lanoue says:

    Absolutely outstanding scenes Steve! Well done!

    Like

  4. penpusherpen says:

    glorious photo’s Steve, both stand out and make you double take, the blueness of the first is an absolute delight. and how can I describe my feelings on the second one?. I’ve climbed to the top of my personal mountain and I now see heaven? Yup, that’ll do… 🙂 xx

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Pen. I really enjoy the experience as I make these images and the pleasure you and all my friends here express from the view increases my sense of satisfaction…and validation of the journey. 🙂

      Like

  5. Greg Russell says:

    Lovely images, Steve, each with a very different feel. I was just talking to a friend about sunstars yesterday and how I *never* can get them to work…maybe I just need to buy a Zeiss. 🙂 You executed this one perfectly.

    Like

  6. tomwhelan says:

    The blue lake is super, so is the sunstar. Get that Zeiss 21…

    Like

Leave a Reply

