05.19.2013 One flower and another….

Sorry.  I am just not as good at coming up with snappy titles as are most of my friends.  Every once in a while I think of a good one, but mostly…meh.  I should be writing science abstracts. 🙂

I went to High Ledges yesterday to check on the yellow lady’s slippers but they are still several days away from opening themselves to the world.  It was a nice hike….uphill both ways (yes, that is possible) so some good exercise anyway.  I stopped at the Podick Conservation Area in North Amherst looking for painted trilliums but they were actually a bit past.  The ticks, however, are going great guns and I took a few dozen along for the ride.  All clear now thank goodness.  Another good round of exercise there.  Finally, I visited my usually reliable Dean Brook area and there were plenty of painted trilliums about to open but the lady’s slippers were still in tight buds.  Seemed like a good bet for today.

OK, so enough of a build up.  Here is a painted trillium from this morning:Painted-Trillium-051913-800FBand a not quite ready for prime time pink lady’s slipper:Pink-Lady's-Slipper-opening-051913-800FBOh yeah, please click the images to see them a bit larger.

It’s funny…yesterday I gathered ticks like fly paper in the tall grass at Podick.  Today I was rolling all over the ground in the pine woods getting these shots and not a tick to be found.  Go figure. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Flora, Nature Photography, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 05.19.2013 One flower and another….

  1. The wildflowers are unbeatable where you live. Elegant beauty. Wonderful shots\, Steve. I really like the photo of the unopened bud.

    Like

  2. Lottie Nevin says:

    Yvonne has hit the nail on the head ( i almost wrote snail on the head…yikes!) the wildflowers ‘are unbeatable where you live’ or should I say in your neck of the woods? We have some pretty gorgeous ones in the UK but I think yours are the winners, and of course beautifully photographed! 😀

    Like

    • Thank you Lottie. Ours are indeed lovely, but as with Yvonne’s neck of the woods, I have seen many images of the orchids and bluebells in the UK and they are nothing to sneeze at…sneeze because of maybe but not at. 🙂 And, of course, S.E. Asia has some real lovely species of their own too.

      Like

      • Lottie Nevin says:

        I’m off into the jungle today. If I find something interesting I shall be sure to take a photo of it. I’ve seen some amazing orchids but not a lot of wild flowers yet. Hope to see more when I venture back to Flores and Lombok.

        Like

      • I hope you see many flowers, Lottie. I’d love to see what orchids and others you find and am looking forward to a flora edition of “Under the Shade of a Banyan Tree”. Have fun in the jungle. :-).

        Like

  3. Andrew says:

    Beautiful flower portraits Steve. I’d love to see what you could do with bluebells.

    Like

  4. Greg Russell says:

    Lovely images, Steve. No one quite does these flower portraits like you, and I am becoming convinced I could never tire of these painted trilliums (trillia?). Gorgeous flowers.

    I feel you on the ticks. Gruesome creatures, and we have a few places where I always manage to pick up at least 4-5. That’s why I like the Colorado Plateau…I’ve never seen one. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Greg. I like Trillia and use it sometimes, but it is trilliums. 🙂 I am hoping to shoot them again this weekend (along with lady’s slippers both pink and yellow), but we have had two days of rain and two more predicted plus some breezes so I am not optimistic.
      Not that I like having my blood sucked, but I could put up with it if it were not for the accompanying disease threats. A good friend came close to the end with Erlichia….http://www.ehrlichia.com/ which most people have never heard of.

      Like

  5. sschaenzerwp says:

    The Trilliums are truly amazing flowers and you are so lucky to have the lady’s slippers around, too. The later is my favourite in this post – unusual to see them closed and nice colours in the background 😉

    Like

  6. You are not only lucky to have great wildflowers, but you capture them so well. You seem to be posting a lot lately. Keep up the great work.

    Like

  7. Pingback: 11.16.2013 Obsession | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

  8. It’s fair to say that first you had an uptick and then just as suddenly a downtick in little parasites. I’m glad that the first day didn’t deter you from taking more pictures on the second.

    Like

Leave a Reply

