05.15.2013 Lesser Celandine

This invasive flower is not all that popular although my neighbor grows it as ground cover around her mailbox.  It is a nice yellow and is also known as a Fig Buttercup.  So as the yellow is quite nice, I decided to process it as a black and white image. 🙂  Photographed at the Fanny Stebbins Wildlife Refuge and most likely an escapee from a garden somewhere.

Please click to see it larger.

Lesser-Celandine-800FB

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Flora, Nature Photography, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 05.15.2013 Lesser Celandine

  1. Just Rod says:

    The heavy veins of the leaves are quite beautiful. Too bad this is an invasive species. Very nice composition and evenness of the depth of field. I’m not usually a great fan of b and w treatment except for faces and architecture – but this one could cause some conversion…

    Like

    • Thanks Rod. Usually I only have converted flowers that are or are mostly white, so this was a slight departure for me. The contrast is what works as in most B&W. I am happy this has you thinking.

      Like

  2. Lottie Nevin says:

    The leaves steal the show here for me. The flower is beautiful but it’s the background that I love best. Steve, whatever you capture on camera is always stunning 🙂

    Like

  3. Phil Lanoue says:

    Good choice to go with B&W on this Steve, looks terrific.

    Like

  4. Andrew says:

    Shades of Ansel! Very nicely done , Steve. I didn’t know Celadines are invasive. We liked them as kids. B&W shows the leaves off beautifully. Who needs colour?

    Like

    • Thanks Andrew. They are just invasive here where they are not native and tend to take over the spots where they land.
      Given the right contrasts and tones I agree…who needs color. 🙂

      Like

  5. Greg Russell says:

    +1. A gorgeous image, Steve!

    Like

  6. There isn’t much for me to add. I agree with all of the above comments. I like the leaves though probably the most. Too bad that a seeminly innocent looking plant is actually invasive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

