05.08.2013 Full Moon on the Rise

April’s full moon is known as the Full Pink Moon.  I decided to go up on Mount Pollux, a very short and undemanding 1 minute walk from the parking spot, for a fairly clear view according to The Photographer’s Ephemeris.   If you are not familiar with the software, it is a great resource for information regarding the sun’s and moon’s rising and setting times as well as location and stage of fullness.  Add a compass and you should know just where the moon will show up on the horizon and just when as well.  It worked. 🙂

I like this view rather than the images I made with the entire moon hanging in the sky.  There are wispy clouds catching the light from the sun’s twilight aiding in the “Pink” part of Full Pink Moon and looking especially nice with the deep blue of Blue Hour for a backdrop.Full-Moon-1-042513-800FB

A lot of folks have become interested in night photography and are putting out some superb images but I haven’t done much evening or night photography.  I think I will try more if I can only stay awake after 9 p.m.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 05.08.2013 Full Moon on the Rise

  1. Lottie Nevin says:

    The colours are superb. A terrific photo Steve.
    I’d love to take night photographs. The Bali skies are often cloudless after dark and when there is a full or crescent moon it’s particularly enchanting. I’m guessing you need a pretty grown-up lens to capture something like this? My attempts so far have all been rather feeble, fuzzy affairs!

    I look forward to seeing some more of these soon! 😀

    Like

    • Thanks, Lottie. I don’t have anything spectacular in the way of lenses. It would be a lot of fun to do this with Andrew’s 800, but the longest glass I own is a 300 f/4. Bali sounds perfect for this sort of photography.

      Like

  2. Just Rod says:

    Beautiful image. The curve of the landscape is so gentle and the glow of the moonshine against the clouds wonderful. I’ll have to check out the PE software. I’d be interested in the lens type too.

    Like

    • Thanks, Rod. I just mentioned to Lottie that the lens is a 300 f/4 and as well I added the 1.4 tele-extender to add a bit more reach. PE is a great little bit of software and is available for your phone as well.

      Like

  3. Andrew says:

    Another go at posting. Although it is rising the moon looks to me as if it is slipping through a tear in the clouds, like a bright shiny coin falling through the lining of a pocket. Rod is right, the gentle line of the landscape is eye catching. Maybe if you could just add an aurora or a meteor shower? 😉

    Like

  4. Golly gee this is pretty, Steve. As they say “early to bed, early to rise, makes a man healthy,wealthy and wise.” 🙂

    Like

  5. Phil Lanoue says:

    That looks terrific Steve and I like how you were wise to include the tree line for perspective and the wispy clouds were an added bonus. Very nicely done!

    Like

    • Thanks, Phil. There are many images of a nice large full moon hanging in the sky. I thought something a bit different was worth a shot. I was definitely lucky to have those clouds.

      Like

  6. Greg Russell says:

    Gorgeous; I did not know this about April’s full moon.

    I really like the atmospherics around the moon…they give a little bit of attitude to this image!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Best Moment Award | Reflections in Puddles

  8. Just Rod says:

    Steve: I really enjoy your blog and all your posts, especially this one. I’ve nominated this post for the BEST MOMENT AWARD. To receive the award, go to my blog for the rules to accept it. The logo to add to your site is available for download is at MomentMatters.com/Award. Congratulations, I look forward to many more great posts on your blog, Rod

    Like

    • Thank you very much Rod for the kind words and nomination. I am also not one for internet or blog awards but I sincerely do appreciate your thoughtfulness to include my post. Thanks for viewing my postings and your generous comments. That is award enough for me. 🙂

      Like

      • sschaenzerwp says:

        Great shot, missed it somehow.
        I like the mood and colours but could help out with a few auroras if you insist 😉

        Like

      • Auroras would have been nice, Sandra. But I have done so little night photography that I am very pleased to have just got this one. This past weekend would have been good for auroras here in the northeast US but the clouds ruined that for us.

        Like

  9. Office Diva says:

    Green Heron Steve: I love all of your work, of course……am slowly catching up on all that I have missed. But I am a bit of a night bird, so I am entranced by this photo of the moon, and the way you have captured it in all its mystery. Not all of it, just the hint of what is missing……lovely.

    Like

    • Thanks Diva! See, you have the advantage of being a night person and enjoying the moonrise and night sky more often while I get up at 4 am and rarely see such sights. My recovery time after staying out late for this was days.
      I appreciate your taking a stroll through history and checking out my previous posts. I hope they are enjoyable. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

