05.04.2013 Fog at Harvard Pond

I got up at 3:30 this morning with a plan to photograph the Eta Aquarids meteor shower but that didn’t work out.  Possibly I should have risen at 2, but there didn’t seem to be much activity although I did see one in my yard before leaving.  I probably just got to my chosen spot too late for a dark enough sky.  So on to plan B.

I’ve photographed Harvard Pond many times as I mentioned in a recent post.  Once I made an image with some nice colorful fog at sunrise and was hoping for that today.  It didn’t quite turn out as planned, but I think I did get a nice shot or two none the less.

When I first arrived there was some nice color in the sky above the tree line and the fog was rolling across the pond.  I posted a quick iPhone snap on Facebook but I think this image from the SLR works even better.

Please be sure to click the image for a larger view.

Harvard-Pond-Foggy-Dawn-050413-BlogI still had hopes for some color to tint the fog but it takes a while for the sun to reach the top of the tree line and by then most of the color had dissipated.  I would have liked the rays to be a bit better defined but I am satisfied with my second shot just the same.Harvard-Pond-Foggy-Dawn-2-050413-BlogOne of the reasons I, and others as well, return to favorite spots is the variety of light and the way the environment changes with time.  It isn’t often you will see things looking just the same on return trips.  One of my favorite artists is Katsushika Hokusai who created many different views of Mount Fuji.  I have a few different subjects with this type series in mind.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 05.04.2013 Fog at Harvard Pond

  1. These photos are excellent but the second one is outstanding. The water gave the trees and clouds a place to showcase their beauty. Pictures with reflections are eye cathching for me and this truly is a stunner. It seems that no matter when or where you go, Steve, you find the beauty. Motivation definitely plays a factor in your skills. Getting up in order to get these scenes is not for a lazy person. Could you present a montone version and then post the color and the B & W to see which your viewers like the best?

    Like

    • Thanks for your kind words, Yvonne. Some days I am more lazy than others, but thank goodness for photography and nature…either is enough to get me moving and both together are impossible to resist. 🙂
      I look at a B&W conversion as you suggest.

      Like

  2. Keith Carver says:

    Love both photos and especially your narrative about rising so early to get the shot. It makes me really appreciate what you do to get these beautiful images. I like the comp on the second one a tad better than the first. Really good stuff, Steve!

    Like

    • Thanks Keith. I’ve noticed that you are an early riser too. I’ve mentioned this before, but I hope readers of these comments will click on your name and see the fine work you do with your bird photography. 🙂

      Like

  3. Lottie Nevin says:

    You are not alone in missing the meteor shower. I know many people who were disappointed at not being able to see it, mostly because of cloud cover. Your desire to capture a moment is evident – this is what sets you aside as a remarkable photographer. You need to be ‘hungry’ to get a good shot. If that demands early starts, biting midges or freezing cold, whatever it takes to be there for that magic to happen. But boy! oh boy! your work is stunning That’s the pay back for all your hard graft and discomfort. That is what makes them so special, so unique. Well worth the effort. Congratulations Steve and thank you for inspiring us all with your hard work, dedication and extraordinarily beautiful shots of nature.

    Like

    • Thanks so much for those words, Lottie. I’ll do my best to continue to live up to such praise. As you may have noticed, I’m a bit shy when it comes to receiving compliments so about all I can come up with is “Thanks!”. I am very glad you enjoy my images.

      Like

  4. Andrew says:

    I would be deliriously happy to make photos like this and yes, the early bird…….. You see how greedy your disciples are? They want monochrome as well as colour. I’m ashamed to say I didn’t know about the meteor shower. As to which shot is better……. Well I also prefer number two but its purely personal reaction. I can well imagine others opting for the first image. Lovely work, Steve. You deserve some sleep now.

    Like

    • Thank you, Andrew. I am not always aware of the meteor showers either, but a few of my fellow New England photographers do pay attention (one is a meteorologist) and I see them post about the events on FB. At least I got to see one streaking across the sky. It really is quite a treat. Getting an image would be fantastic.
      I like both images a lot and am really pleased that the second is being received well as I almost didn’t include it. A good reason why I will never judge a photo contest. 🙂

      Like

  5. Just Rod says:

    These are wonderful – both of them. They each have such a distinct quality. I love the colours and quiet of the first and the reflections and sunlight of the second. 3:30 am you say! Hmm I have to become more disciplined!

    Like

  6. tomwhelan says:

    Excellent images, both of them, lovely quality of light..
    Shame on me for not doing something with that fog – it was pretty heavy here that morning…

    Like

  7. Phil Lanoue says:

    Super scenes Steve, those look great!

    Like

  8. sschaenzerwp says:

    These are two wonderful moody photos. It was definitely worth getting up that early, even if you missed the meteors. Patience eventually pays off 😉

    Like

  9. Pingback: Evening photo: Dawn at Harvard Pond | BlazingCatFur

Leave a Reply

