03.26.2013 Yet another return engagement…Gunn Falls

Some places just keep you coming back for more.  And even though it is straddling between snow and the mud season, I returned to Gunn Falls this past Sunday.  I wanted to check on the leaning Hemlock tree (hard to tell but it is leaning into the image overhead here) to see if it survived another winter…it has.  I climbed up the hill to the upper falls and found a really good flow happening but the sky was overcast and an awfully bright distraction over the falls.

Please click the images for a larger view.

Gunn-Falls-Upper-032413-Blog

 

 

 

 

OK, but not a great image.  There is so much character in this waterfall that I decided to concentrate on just an intimate view of the water flowing over the rocks.  Fortunately, the water is very shallow and I was able to stand at a nice angle for framing the jumping water and get some nice veiling with a slow exposure using just a circular polarizer.Upper-Gunn-Falls-detail-032413-900FB

 

 

 

 

I have photographed these waterfalls for several years, as well as the ledges nearby for spring wildflowers, and they never disappoint.  I can hardly wait for the Spring blooms to begin in a few weeks. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 03.26.2013 Yet another return engagement…Gunn Falls

  1. Andrew says:

    Both nice images Steve but you know I am smitten by the second one. This one blows me away. I’d get my feet wet for that!!

    Like

  2. Wow! The second pic is fantastic. What a wondrful place for you to capture all the wonderful photos that you post. I really like the monochrome.

    Like

  3. quabbinite says:

    I love waterfall pictures. Briggs Brook is really where I learned how to set shutter speed, but I think I’m going to have to visit your Gunn Falls to test my skills. Perhaps I’ll wait for some actual Spring activity before doing so. The snow is nice, but much nicer in November and December! Now is the time for rain and flowers. Once again, you’ve done a great job of capturing character in these photos.

    Like

  4. Waterfalls are among my most favorite things. I actually love both your images, for different reasons. The first, because of the interesting contrast of the bare trees in the background. The second, because it’s a purely gorgeous shot.

    Like

    • Thank you very much for the comment Intricate Knot and for coming by to check things out and following.We share a delight in waterfalls. I really enjoy the variable shapes and forms water creates as it moves over solid objects.

      Like

  5. Greg Russell says:

    I’m glad to see you took the time to return. That second image is truly gorgeous; the waterfall alone is pretty but the terraced ledges are simply wonderful. Well done, Steve!

    Like

    • Thanks very much Greg. I am glad you like the views there because there will be more over time. It is close enough and a short walk as well as there is the coming attraction of all the flowers that should be popping any time now.

      Like

  6. What a beautiful waterfall, Steve. I like both of your renderings here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

